WSuch feed is best tolerated by two-week-old chicks? ”asks Dorcas from Maralal. “Should I take turns planting Sukuma cabbage and tomatoes in my field?” Tharaka-Nithi thinks. And Maulyne from Murang'a wants to know whether she can feed her “dairy cows moldy corn flour?”

Just a few years ago, the three small farmers in Kenya might have asked their neighbors for advice, waited for a farm adviser to visit, or experimented with luck. Today they don't have to ponder for long. Within a few minutes, Dorcas receives a feed schedule for his chicks, Darrell is highly recommended to change crops in the vegetable garden, and Maulyne learns that the old corn flour is in no way suitable as animal feed due to aflatoxins - toxins formed by molds.

They came to this advice conveniently via mobile phone. Because the three farmers sent their questions via SMS to the knowledge platform Wefarm. According to CEO Kenny Ewan, Wefarm is the “world's largest rural digital network” with around 1,9 million users in Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. It is based on the idea, says Ewan, that "for every agricultural problem there is a farmer somewhere who already knows a solution".

Peer-2-peer advice: small farmers share their experiences via SMS.

With the help of machine learning, Wefarm analyzes the short messages according to content, location and language. Then algorithms determine who is most likely to provide answers in the network - and they reach the questioner on average after only 13 minutes.

This service is anything but a niche offer, says Ewan. "Smallholder agriculture is probably the largest industry in the world: Around 70 percent of the global food supply comes from small farmers." 

Agtech for Africa

Wefarm is far from the only provider that develops software specifically for the large group of small farmers. The African market alone has hundreds of applications for the agricultural sector, the Center for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation CTA, which is operated jointly by the EU and developing countries, found in a study published in 2019. The catchphrase is "Digitalization for Agriculture" or D4AG for short. This includes all those digital technologies, innovations and data with the help of which agricultural value chains should be changed for the better by ensuring higher productivity, better harvest management, market access or financing. 

"Digitization can bring about the modernization and change in African agriculture," believes CTA Director Michael Hailu, and he is not alone with this opinion. Whether the EU, the African Development Bank, the World Bank, the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ) or corporations like Alibaba, IBM or Mastercard: More and more players are exploring ways in which smart applications can increase the productivity of smallholders in developing countries. 

This is necessary because of the growing world population: According to the United Nations, 2050 billion people will have to fill their plates by 9,7, which would be almost two billion more than today. The pressure on the agricultural sector is increasing, especially in Africa, where much of the population growth is expected to take place. According to the CTA, agricultural productivity would have to at least double to meet continental demand. But the yields of the 250 million African farmers are still low today. Many only work small plots of less than two hectares, often without access to agricultural resources such as high-quality seeds, machines and irrigation systems. In addition, the sector is coming under increasing pressure due to the effects of climate change such as changed precipitation, periods of drought or pest infestation.

Young and dynamic

The tech solutions on offer are as diverse as the problems of the farmers themselves: apps offer information about markets and prices, weather conditions or cultivation methods. With mobile applications, sick plants can be diagnosed and counterfeit seeds recognized, agricultural machinery can be rented and buyers can be found for harvesting. Around 400 D4AG solutions were available in Africa in 2018, more than half of which were on the market for a maximum of three years. Around 33 million small farmers have registered for the solutions specially developed for them. 

Despite high double-digit growth rates, you shouldn't be blinded by these figures: The CTA Report estimates that only 42 percent of registered users actually use the solutions, and sometimes only with support, for example from booking agents. And only 15 to 30 percent of all registered users are considered so “active” that they would benefit from regular use. How effective the apps actually are, "has hardly been investigated, the sector is still too young and the data is not transparently accessible," explains Heike Baumüller from the ZEF Center for Development Research at the University of Bonn. According to the CTA, however, there are “indications that D4AG solutions have positive direct and indirect effects on the yields and incomes of smallholders”. 

Interview with Heike Baumüller, Center for Development Research ZEF

Building block with potential

Heike Baumüller, senior scientist at the Center for Development Research ZEF at the University of Bonn, on the trend towards agricultural apps for Africa's small farmers.

In any case, apps open up new possibilities. For example, many farmers lack the money to purchase Agricultural machinery. In Nigeria alone, according to the Abuja-based start-up Hello Tractor, 750.000 tractors are missing. "However, due to the small areas and the low utilization, a separate tractor would not make economic sense for many small farmers anyway," explains Priscilla Asonibare from Hello Tractor.

The start-up therefore brings the idea of ​​"using instead of owning" - which has a long tradition in Austria due to machine rings in agriculture - to Africa in a modern form: farmers can rent, pay for and value tractors using a smartphone app. The machines themselves provide real-time data on utilization and location, which makes abuse and theft more difficult and motivates owners to make their tractors available. 

Such shared economy approaches could advance the much-needed mechanization of agriculture. The scaling of the model is in turn easier to implement with the public and private sectors than alone - at least that's the current strategy of Hello Tractor. As part of a partnership with the US tractor manufacturer John Deere, which wants to open up a new growth market in Africa, the start-up would soon like to bring thousands of new tractors to African fields.

Interview with Priscilla Asonibare, Hello Tractor

Uber for farmers

The Nigerian start-up Hello Tractor wants to make agriculture more efficient, says spokeswoman Priscilla Asonibare.

Difficult customers

So far, only a few providers have managed to achieve more than a million registrations and thus a relevant size. Established companies such as the mobile operator Safaricom in Kenya naturally find it easier than a small start-up. After all, it can be challenging to even reach the target group of farmers: You have to visit, convince and train them in often remote areas so that they can use the applications properly. The app developers have to take into account the often low level of education: some applications “speak” to the users, because many small farmers cannot read. Wefarm's software accepts regional languages ​​and recognizes variations in spelling, typing errors, and incorrect punctuation. 

Access to technology also complicates the spread. The Plantix plant diagnosis app, for example, already has one million active users worldwide, especially in India, but Africa is only just beginning, explains manager Bianca Kummer: “The data prices for the Internet in Africa are compared to other developing regions still very expensive. Internet coverage in rural areas and smartphone penetration among small farmers is still not sufficient. ”Widely used platforms such as Wefarm or Digi-farm therefore still offer their services via SMS. 

Game Changer

D4AG solutions are likely to change agriculture. Hundreds of millions of smallholders could use digital services in the coming years, the authors of the CTA study estimate that a billion euro market is emerging. But even the smartest apps cannot solve all problems. If there is a lack of roads, electricity or irrigation, even the most well-connected small farmers will struggle to turn their floors upside down.

 

Apps for small farmers

Diagnostics via digital image

Diagnostic tool for showy plants: Plantix detects diseases

The leaves of the coconut palm turn black and no one can be asked why? Nowadays pictures of ailing plant can be sent via smartphone. The Plantix diagnostic tool (from the German start-up PEAT) uses artificial intelligence to analyze smartphone images in a matter of seconds. The popular app receives tens of thousands of images a day and is therefore also suitable for showing the spread of pests. The Agrix Tech app (Cameroon) is new on the market. It also recognizes plant diseases and suggests treatment tips - also as a voice message in several African languages.

Tractor for a day

A rental tractor is better than no tractor.

Whether plowing, sowing, harvesting - small farmers usually have to do this manually or with draft animals. The Nigerian start-up Hello Tractor, founded in 2014, wants to promote mechanization by enabling farmers to rent tractors as needed. You can place the order via an app or an agent. The rental tractors are equipped with a GPS monitoring device, which provides the owner with real-time data on the location, the level in the tank, the operating hours and maintenance requirements. Customers can in turn rate the tractor on the platform. Hello Tractor is active in twelve countries, from Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana, Bangladesh and India. Trotro Tractor (Ghana) and Trringo (India) also offer small farmers access to rental tractors.

One stop farm

Digifarm in Kenya is a digital platform especially for small farmers.

Many agricultural apps offer their users money transactions via mobile phones. M-Pesa, which was launched in 2007 by the Kenyan mobile operator Safaricom, is regarded as a pioneer for mobile money transfers and now has more than 30 million users. In 2017, Safaricom launched DigiFarm, a mobile phone platform especially for small farmers. It offers access to various services: from loans for the purchase of seeds and fertilizers, agricultural tutorials, crop insurance and soil analysis to direct communication with processing companies. According to Safaricom, Kenya already exists
1,2 million registered DigiFarmer.

Direct wire to the buyer

Digital marketplaces make it easier for small farmers to sell their raw materials.

Small farmers may find it difficult to find buyers for their crops. Digital marketplaces make it easier to trade agricultural products. The startup AgroCenta, founded in Ghana in 2016, brings together small farmers and large customers such as breweries and feed manufacturers via an app. Commodities such as rice, corn, millet and soy are traded. Payment is made via mobile phone, customary middlemen are avoided. The start-up takes over the transport of the crops to the customer, advises small farmers and supports them in accessing financial services such as crop insurance and pensions. According to AgroCenta, the income of around 48.000 participating farmers increases by up to 25 percent.

Photos: Hello Tractor, Dominic Chavez / World Bank, Plantix, Safaricom / Digifarm, A'Melody Lee / World Bank

Welches Futter vertragen zwei Wochen alte Küken am besten?“, fragt sich Dorcas aus Maralal. „Soll ich auf meinem Feld abwechselnd Sukuma-Kohl und Tomaten pflanzen?“, überlegt Darrell aus Tharaka-Nithi. Und Maulyne aus Murang‘a will wissen, ob sie ihren „Milchkühen verschimmeltes Maismehl verfüttern darf?“

Noch vor wenigen Jahren hätten die drei kenianischen Kleinbauern vielleicht ihren Nachbarn um Rat gefragt, den Besuch eines landwirtschaftlichen Beraters abgewartet oder auf gut Glück experimentiert. Heute müssen sie nicht lange grübeln. Innerhalb weniger Minuten erhält Dorcas einen Futterplan für seine Küken, Darrell wird der Fruchtwechsel im Gemüsegarten sehr empfohlen und Maulyne erfährt, dass sich das alte Maismehl aufgrund von Aflatoxinen – das sind von Schimmelpilzen gebildete Giftstoffe – als Tierfutter keinesfalls eignet.

An diese Ratschläge kamen sie bequem via Handy. Denn die drei Bauern haben ihre Fragen per SMS an die Wissensplattform Wefarm gesendet. Wefarm ist laut CEO Kenny Ewan mit rund 1,9 Millionen Nutzern in Kenia, Uganda und Tansania das „weltweit größte bäuerliche Digitalnetzwerk“. Es basiert auf der Idee, so Ewan, dass „es für jedes landwirtschaftliche Problem irgendwo einen Bauern gibt, der bereits eine Lösung kennt“.

Peer-2-Peer-Beratung: Kleinbauern teilen ihre Erfahrungen via SMS.

Wefarm analysiert die Kurznachrichten mit Hilfe maschinellen Lernens nach Inhalt, Ort und Sprache. Anschließend ermitteln Algorithmen, wer im Netzwerk am ehesten Antworten liefern kann – und die erreichen den Fragesteller im Schnitt nach nur 13 Minuten.

Dieses Service sei alles andere als ein Nischenangebot, so Ewan. „Bei kleinbäuerlicher Landwirtschaft handelt es sich um die wahrscheinlich größte Branche der Welt: Rund 70 Prozent des globalen Nahrungsmittelangebots kommt von Kleinbauern.“ 

Agtech für Afrika

Wefarm ist bei weitem nicht der einzige Anbieter, der Software speziell für die große Gruppe der kleinen Bauern entwickelt. Allein am afrikanischen Markt gibt es hunderte Anwendungen für den Agrarsektor, stellte das Zentrum für landwirtschaftliche und ländliche Zusammenarbeit CTA, das gemeinsam von der EU und Entwicklungsländern betrieben wird, in einer 2019 veröffentlichten Studie fest. Das Schlagwort heißt „Digitalisation for Agriculture“ oder kurz D4AG. Darunter sind all jene digitalen Technologien, Innovationen und Daten zu verstehen, mit deren Hilfe landwirtschaftliche Wertschöpfungsketten zum Positiven verändert werden sollen, indem sie für höhere Produktivität, besseres Erntemanagement, Marktzugang oder Finanzierung sorgen. 

„Die Digitalisierung kann die Modernisierung und den Wandel der afrikanischen Landwirtschaft herbeiführen,“ glaubt CTA-Direktor Michael Hailu, und mit dieser Meinung steht er nicht allein da. Ob EU, Afrikanische Entwicklungsbank, Weltbank, die deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GIZ oder Konzerne wie Alibaba, IBM oder Mastercard: Immer mehr Player eruieren Möglichkeiten, wie durch smarte Anwendungen die Produktivität von Kleinbauern in Entwicklungsländern gesteigert werden kann. 

Notwendig ist dies schon allein aufgrund der wachsenden Weltbevölkerung: Laut den Vereinten Nationen müssen 2050 bereits die Teller von 9,7 Milliarden Menschen befüllt werden, das wären knapp zwei Milliarden Menschen mehr als heute. Der Druck auf den landwirtschaftlichen Sektor steigt vor allem in Afrika, wo ein Großteil des Bevölkerungswachstums stattfinden soll. Laut CTA müsste sich die landwirtschaftliche Produktivität zumindest verdoppeln, um die kontinentale Nachfrage zu befriedigen. Doch die Erträge der 250 Millionen afrikanischen Bauern sind heute noch niedrig. Viele bearbeiten nur kleine Parzellen von unter zwei Hektar, und das oft ohne Zugang zu landwirtschaftlichen Betriebsmitteln wie hochwertigem Saatgut, Maschinen und Bewässerungsanlagen. Dazu gerät der Sektor aufgrund von Klimawandelauswirkungen wie veränderte Niederschläge, Dürreperioden oder Schädlingsbefall zunehmend unter Druck.

Jung und dynamisch

Die angebotenen Tech-Lösungen sind so vielfältig wie die Probleme der Bauern selbst: Apps bieten Informationen über Märkte und Preise, über Wetterbedingungen oder Anbaumethoden. Mit mobilen Applikationen können kranke Pflanzen diagnostiziert und gefälschtes Saatgut erkannt werden, man kann Landmaschinen ausleihen und Käufer für Ernten finden. Rund 400 D4AG-Lösungen waren 2018 in Afrika erhältlich, mehr als die Hälfte davon war maximal drei Jahre am Markt. Rund 33 Millionen Kleinbauern haben sich für die speziell für sie entwickelten Lösungen registriert. 

Trotz hoher zweistelliger Wachstumsraten sollte man sich von diesen Zahlen nicht blenden lassen: Der CTA-Report schätzt, dass nur 42 Prozent der registrierten Nutzer die Lösungen tatsächlich verwenden, und das mitunter nur mit Unterstützung, etwa durch Buchungsagenten. Und nur 15 bis 30 Prozent aller registrierten Nutzer gelten als so „aktiv“, dass sie von der regelmäßigen Nutzung profitieren würden. Wie wirkungsvoll die Apps tatsächlich sind, „ist kaum untersucht, dazu ist der Sektor noch zu jung und die Daten nicht transparent zugänglich“, erklärt Heike Baumüller vom Zentrum für Entwicklungsforschung ZEF an der Universität Bonn. Laut CTA gibt es aber „Hinweise, dass D4AG-Lösungen positive direkte und indirekte Auswirkungen auf die Erträge und Einkommen der Kleinbauern haben“. 

Interview mit Heike Baumüller, Zentrum für Entwicklungsforschung ZEF

Baustein mit Potenzial

Heike Baumüller, leitende Wissenschafterin am Zentrum für Entwicklungsforschung ZEF an der Universität Bonn, über den Trend zu Agrar-Apps für Afrikas Kleinbauern.

Jedenfalls eröffnen Apps neue Möglichkeiten. Vielen Bauern fehlt beispielsweise das Geld für die Anschaffung von Landmaschinen. Allein in Nigeria fehlen laut des in Abuja ansässigen Start-ups Hello Tractor 750.000 Zugmaschinen. „Aufgrund der kleinen Flächen und der geringen Auslastung wäre ein eigener Traktor für viele Kleinbauern allerdings wirtschaftlich ohnehin nicht sinnvoll“, erklärt Priscilla Asonibare von Hello Tractor.

Das Start-up bringt daher die Idee des „Nutzens statt Besitzens“ – das in Österreich durch Maschinenringe in der Landwirtschaft bereits eine lange Tradition hat – in moderner Form nach Afrika: Bauern können über eine Smartphone-App Traktoren mieten, bezahlen und bewerten. Die Maschinen selbst liefern Echtzeitdaten zur Auslastung und zum Standort, womit Missbrauch und Diebstahl erschwert und die Besitzer motiviert werden, ihre Traktoren zur Verfügung zu stellen. 

Solche Shared Economy-Ansätze könnten die dringend benötigte Mechanisierung der Landwirtschaft voranbringen. Die Skalierung des Modells lässt sich wiederum mit dem öffentlichen und privaten Sektor leichter umsetzen als allein – so zumindest die aktuelle Strategie von Hello Tractor. Im Rahmen einer Partnerschaft mit dem US-amerikanischen Traktorenhersteller John Deere, der in Afrika einen neuen Wachstumsmarkt erschließen will, möchte das Start-up schon bald tausende neue Traktoren auf afrikanische Felder bringen.

 
 
 

Interview mit Priscilla Asonibare, Hello Tractor

Uber für Landwirte

Das nigerianische Start-up Hello Tractor will Landwirtschaft leistungsfähiger machen, erzählt Sprecherin Priscilla Asonibare.

Schwierige Kunden

Bislang gelingt es nur wenigen Anbietern, mehr als eine Million Registrierungen und damit eine relevante Größe zu erreichen. Etablierte Unternehmen wie der Mobilfunkbetreiber Safaricom in Kenia tun sich naturgemäß leichter als ein kleines Start-up. Schließlich kann es herausfordernd sein, die Zielgruppe der Bauern überhaupt zu erreichen: Man muss sie in oft entlegenen Gebieten aufsuchen, überzeugen und schulen, damit sie die Anwendungen richtig nutzen. Die App-Entwickler müssen dabei das oftmals geringe Bildungslevel berücksichtigen: Manche Anwendungen „sprechen“ zu den Nutzern, denn viele Kleinbauern können nicht lesen. Wefarms Software akzeptiert regionale Sprachen und erkennt Variationen in der Rechtschreibung, Tippfehler und falsche Zeichensetzung. 

Auch der Zugang zur Technologie erschwert die Verbreitung. Die Pflanzen-diagnose-App Plantix beispielsweise hat weltweit, vor allem in Indien, bereits eine Million aktive Nutzer, in Afrika stehe man aber erst am Beginn, erklärt Managerin Bianca Kummer: „Die Datenpreise für das Internet sind in Afrika im Vergleich zu anderen Entwicklungsregionen noch sehr teuer. Auch die Internetabdeckung im ländlichen Raum und die Smartphone-Penetration unter Kleinbauern ist noch nicht ausreichend.“ Weit verbreitete Plattformen wie Wefarm oder Digi-farm bieten ihre Services daher immer noch per SMS an. 

Game Changer

D4AG-Lösungen werden die Agrarwirtschaft wohl verändern. In den kommenden Jahren könnten hunderte Millionen Kleinbauern digitale Services nutzen, schätzen die Autoren der CTA-Studie, die einen Milliarden-Euro-Markt im Entstehen sehen. Doch auch die smartesten Apps können nicht alle Probleme lösen. Wenn es an Straßen, Strom oder Bewässerung fehlt, werden sich auch bestens vernetzte Kleinbauern schwertun, ihre Böden auf den Kopf zu stellen.

 

Apps für Kleinbauern

Diagnose per Digitalbild

Diagnose-Tool für auffällige Pflanzen: Plantix erkennt Krankheiten

Die Blätter der Kokospalme verfärben sich schwarz und niemand, den man nach der Ursache fragen könnte? Heutzutage lassen sich Bilder kränkelnder Pflanze via Smartphone versenden. Das Diagnosetool Plantix (vom deutschen Start-up PEAT) analysiert mithilfe von künstlicher Intelligenz Smartphone-Bilder sekundenschnell. Die populäre App erhält zehntausende Bilder am Tag und eignet sich daher auch zum Aufzeigen von Schädlingsausbreitungen. Neu am Markt ist die App Agrix Tech (Kamerun), die ebenfalls Pflanzenkrankheiten erkennt und Behandlungstipps vorschlägt – auch als Sprachnachricht in mehreren afrikanischen Sprachen.

Traktor für einen Tag

Ein Leihttraktor ist besser als kein Traktor.

Ob pflügen, aussäen, ernten – Kleinbauern müssen dies meist manuell oder mit Zugtieren erledigen. Das 2014 gegründete nigerianische Start-up Hello Tractor will die Mechanisierung vorantreiben, indem es Bauern das bedarfsweise Mieten von Traktoren ermöglicht. Die Bestellung können sie über eine App oder einen Vermittler vornehmen. Die Leihtraktoren sind mit einem GPS-Überwachungsgerät ausgestattet, das dem Besitzer Echtzeitdaten zum Standort, zum Füllstand im Tank, zu den Betriebsstunden und Wartungsbedarf liefert. Kunden können wiederum den Traktor auf der Plattform bewerten. Hello Tractor ist in zwölf Ländern, von Nigeria, Kenia, Ghana, bis Bangladesch und Indien aktiv. Auch Trotro Tractor (Ghana) oder Trringo (Indien) bieten Kleinbauern den Zugang zu Leihtraktoren.

One-Stop-Bauernhof

Digifarm in Kenia ist eine digitale Plattform speziell für Kleinbauern.

Viele Agrar-Apps bieten ihren Nutzern Geldtransaktionen via Handy. Als Pionier für mobile Geldtransfers gilt M-Pesa, das 2007 vom kenianischen Mobilfunkbetreiber Safaricom auf den Markt gebracht wurde und inzwischen mehr als 30 Millionen Nutzer zählt. 2017 hat Safaricom mit DigiFarm eine Handy-Plattform speziell für Kleinbauern lanciert. Sie bietet Zugang zu verschiedenen Dienstleistungen: Von Krediten für den Kauf von Saatgut und Dünger über landwirtschaftliche Tutorials, Ernteversicherungen und Bodenanalysen bis zur direkten Kommunikation mit Verarbeitungsbetrieben. Laut Safaricom gibt es in Kenia bereits
1,2 Millionen registrierte DigiFarmer.

Direktdraht zum Käufer

Digitale Marktplätze erleichtern Kleinbauern den Verkauf ihrer Rohstoffe.

Für Kleinbauern kann es schwierig sein, Abnehmer für ihre Ernten zu finden. Digitale Marktplätze erleichtern den Handel landwirtschaftlicher Produkte. Das 2016 in Ghana gegründete Startup AgroCenta bringt über eine App Kleinbauern und große Abnehmer wie Brauereien und Futtermittelhersteller zusammen. Gehandelt werden Rohstoffe wie Reis, Mais, Hirse und Soja. Die Bezahlung erfolgt via Handy, übliche Zwischenhändler werden umgangen. Das Start-up übernimmt den Transport der Ernten zum Kunden, berät Kleinbauern und unterstützt sie beim Zugang zu Finanzservices wie Ernteversicherungen und Pensionen. Laut AgroCenta steigt das Einkommen der rund 48.000 teilnehmenden Bauern um bis zu 25 Prozent.

Fotos: Hello Tractor, Dominic Chavez/Weltbank, Plantix, Safaricom/Digifarm, A‘Melody Lee/Weltbank