Clothing should not lose shape, color, matting or tearing and may be waterproof and stain-resistant. In the current state of the art these and many other properties of textiles are usually a matter of chemistry, ie the use of colorants and so-called auxiliary and finishing agents in the production, regardless of whether the starting material is natural or synthetic fiber. The wearer does not want to come into contact with harmful substances through his clothing.

At EU level, this is ensured by REACH, the world's strictest chemicals regulation. Once again in October 2018, the rules were re-sharpened: For 33 chemicals were, if they occur in clothing, footwear and textiles such as bedding or diapers, set new limits, which will apply from the end of 2020. 

Europe sets limits

The newly regulated substances include heavy metals such as cadmium, which is found in dyes, chromium, which is also used to tan leather, or lead, which occurs in zippers, and formaldehyde, which makes textiles wrinkle free, the softening phthalates, the solvent dimethylacetamide and certain colorants. The substances are carcinogenic, mutagenic and toxic for reproduction. They can enter the body via skin contact or inhalation of abraded particles. They enter the clothing as impurities or through targeted use in order to give certain properties to the products.

From the point of view of European consumer organizations, however, the new regulation falls short because some of the thresholds are still too high and the list should regulate significantly more substances. REACH is a driving force for the European textile industry, as Roland Comploj, CEO of Getzner Textil AG, explains: "The increasingly stringent guidelines and changes in the evaluation of chemicals by the European Chemicals Agency are a challenge for the industry. We are constantly working on new solutions together with manufacturers of auxiliary materials. "Getzner produces fabrics for technical applications, shirts and workwear as well as damasks for Africa in Bludenz.

Everything OK

High-tech: The demands on textiles are increasing, chemistry makes it possible - as with sports fashion from Löffler ...

However, REACH does not easily put European manufacturers - including high-quality textiles - into distress, as they usually impose even stricter standards on themselves. The most widespread standard for textiles tested for harmful substances is the Oeko-Tex Standard 100. “This goes”, as Otto Leodolter, Managing Director of Löffler Sportbekleidung in Ried im Innkreis, explains, “in many cases well beyond national and international requirements and means that our Products only contain materials that are safe for health. ”According to Leodolter, the difficult-to-degradable poly- and perfluorinated chemicals (PFC) that make outdoor clothing water-repellent remain a challenge:“ Here we rely on our partners, for example Gore, to offer suitable alternatives as quickly as possible “The fact that world market leader Gore announced in 2017 that it would develop more environmentally friendly processes and gradually dispense with PFCs by 2023 is important for Löffler. Environmental organizations celebrated the commitment as a success of their efforts. The sporting goods manufacturer is also Oeko-Tex Step-certified, which also certifies that the company has a responsible chemical and environmental management system.

... or with fashion fabrics from Getzner.

Getzner also manages the two Oeko-Tex labels, and therefore, as CEO Comploj says, "in order to make their own commitment visible to customers and end consumers." In addition, Getzner's fashion fabrics can be awarded the Oeko-Tex label "Made in Green", which allows the buyer via ID or QR code to survey the entire production chain. Comploj's products have been certified by Bluesign since 2005, the Rolls Royce of product certifications, "because of its holistic approach, which fits well with the company's environmental policy." The Bluesign system is considered the world's strictest textile standard. Because instead of only examining the end product, Bluesign prescribes to test the components and processes already used in advance. This precludes the use of problematic substances from the outset.

Sattes Orange: Product inspection in a supplier company by Engelbert Strauss.
Sattes Orange: Product inspection in a supplier company by Engelbert Strauss.

Bluesign requires compliance with its criteria and continual improvements in the supply chain from its international system partners. The clothing retailer Engelbert Strauss, headquartered in Linz and headquartered in Biebergemünd, Germany, joined 2013 in the Bluesign system. The company has production partners manufacturing in more than 30 countries, most of them in Bangladesh, China, Vietnam and Laos. Several suppliers are already Bluesign system partners, others are on their way. Nevertheless, the Bluesign label does not carry the Engelbert-Strauss products. For this, the proportion of certified materials should be at least 90 percent, the company will focus on the main materials until further notice. The commitment of the family business is nevertheless groundbreaking, as it helps manufacturers in emerging and developing countries to be able to produce state-of-the-art in accordance with - that is, without unnecessary use of hazardous substances.

wake-up call

The subject of Greenpeace's detox-my-fashion campaign: Rivers represent the wastewater disposal site for dye works
Subject from the Detox-My-Fashion campaign by Greenpeace: Rivers represent the disposal site of their wastewater for dye works

The increasing requirements of REACH are primarily an obstacle for those non-European companies which, due to the lack of state control and supply chain responsibility of their clients, continue to be reckless with chemicals. Once finished, the products are washed until they pass the controls of the protected markets, but the chemicals remain in the wastewater, groundwater and air. Greenpeace drew attention to the abuses and the associated damage to the environment and the workforce with its brilliant detox-my-fashion campaign, with great success: 2011 Manufacturers of rank and name - which according to Greenpeace make up 80 percent of the entire clothing sector - committed themselves to list the problem substances used in manufacturing and reduce their use to zero by 15.

The high standards prompted six major fashion labels to launch ZDHC in the year 2011. The name stands for Zero Discharge of Hazardous Chemicals - no emission of hazardous chemicals. The platform is said to bring about a change in the entire textile and leather industry. The industrial sector is one of the largest ever. It spends 1.300 billion dollars a year, employs more than 300 millions of people, and employs tens of millions of tons of chemicals annually. The central locations are Asia and Latin America.

Initiative with system

"Our goal," says Frank Michel, CEO of ZDHC, "is to reduce the chemical footprint in the textile and leather industry and replace it with more innovative, green chemistry." ZDHC has worked in partnership with its stakeholders - brand owners, retailers and retailers Chemical manufacturers - a sophisticated system developed. The central instrument is a list in the production of restricted substances (MRSL). This should become the only standard for the textile industry and gradually replace the many kinds of own lists. "To the extent that our list establishes itself as a reference list, a change is possible," Michel is convinced.

In addition, the platform has already established a positive list with the ZDHC Gateway in cooperation with certification providers worldwide, in particular Bluesign. This contains alternative substances in three security levels. The list is presented as a search engine. It already provides manufacturers with more than 24.000 proven products and is set to be continually expanded, again in cooperation with chemical manufacturers. Substances for which no safer alternative is currently known reach a research list that is to be processed through cooperation with research institutes. In addition, ZDHC has established guidelines for the manufacturing processes of certain products and the handling of wastewater. A guideline for exhaust air will also appear.

Interview with Frank Michel, Zero Discharged Hazardous Chemical

Frank Michel, ZDHC

Power of a single list

Frank Michel, head of the Zero Discharged Hazardous Chemical ZDHC Initiative, is working to lead the textile and leather industry on an innovative green path.
Milestone 2017 ZDHC opened the Implementation Hub in Amsterdam, which carries the ZDHC system into the world
Milestone: 2017 opened ZDHC the Implementation Hub in Amsterdam, which carries the ZDHC system into the world

However, the key question is how companies can manage to implement the appropriate chemical, resource, safety and environmental management systems from the ZDHC list. Here, support is needed, which is why the platform has set up advisory centers in the booming textile industry centers. For example, in Mumbai and Shanghai, from where she looks after operations in South and Southeast Asia, or in Portland, Oregon, which advises manufacturers in the USA. The Milan office specifically targets the luxury industry and covers southern Europe. The expansion is driven by the ZDHC Implementation Hub, which opened 2017 in Amsterdam. The next destination is South America, where a very dynamic fashion and sports industry is developing, as Michel says.

self-perpetuating

Overall, ZDHC wants to keep its structure as simple and cheap as possible. Chemical manufacturers can be listed in the Chem Check Report as ZDHC compliant. Michel: "Our intention is actually to make the manufacturers themselves responsible, so that they implement the programs independently and do not always have to be initiated by their customers."

There is no time limit, says the ZDHC chief, because as soon as the most common chemicals are controlled, it goes on in detail. "The fashion industry is spinning very fast and is always on the lookout for new effects and manufacturing technologies. There is always the temptation to experiment with chemicals to be at the forefront. In that sense, I see no end. "

First Austrian

Engagement With Lenzing, a first Austrian company joined the global ZDHC initiative.
Commitment: Lenzing was the first Austrian company to join the global ZDHC initiative.

A first Austrian company has already joined the global initiative with fiber manufacturer Lenzing. Lenzing's entry into ZDHC in the year 2017 grew out of the desire to create standards in their own industry. The head of the sustainability team, Peter Bartsch, explains the cooperation with the desire "to tackle existing problems at industry level and to achieve continuous improvements." The company, which produces at several locations worldwide in addition to its headquarters in Upper Austria, is considered a pioneer in the sustainable textile fiber production from cellulose fibers. For ZDHC CEO Frank Michel, Lenzing is therefore also a strategic partner with whom a global standard for the wood fiber industry is to be worked out.

Lenzing is one of 77 industrial companies that want to co-develop ZDHC, in addition to 27 brand manufacturers and 18 associations from the textile and leather industry have joined the platform. Frank Michel considers the sheer number of members to be manageable. For him it is crucial that the ZDHC standards are used.


REACH

REACH (Registration, Evaluation and Authorization of Chemicals) is the EU's 2007 Chemicals Regulation, which is being implemented by the European Chemicals Agency in Helsinki. REACH is intended to limit the use of harmful chemicals. Products exceeding limit values ​​may not be placed on the market, regardless of origin.

ZDHC

Zero Discharge of Hazardous Chemicals was founded by 2011 in Amsterdam and is today a global competence center for the elimination of hazardous substances from the textile and leather industry with its Roadmap to Zero Program. ZDHC maintains a sort of blacklist (MRSL) and a greenlist (gateway) for manufacturer substances and sets standards for wastewater and exhaust air.

Bluesign

Logo of bluesign
Logo of bluesign

Bluesign Technologies, 2000, founded in St. Gallen, Switzerland, is committed to holistic transformation by becoming a system partner for companies. Bluesign requires that all substances and raw materials used in manufacturing meet the strictest criteria.

 

Oeko-Tex

The 1992 founded in Zurich, Switzerland, Oeko-Tex has several standards. The standard 100 guarantees the safety of a product, Made in Green its environmentally friendly manufacturing, with SteP and Detox to Zero the manufacturer is rated.

GOTS

Logo of GOTSThe 2008 launched by four labels Global Organic Textile Standard GOTS guarantees that a product made from at least 70 percent natural fibers of controlled biological origin and has been designed to comply with limit values ​​for additives and wastewater treatment.

Photos: ZDHC, Marcel Hagen-Studio 22, Löffler Lance Lee_Greenpeace, Engelbert Strauss, Lenzing A

Kleidung soll Form und Farbe nicht verlieren, nicht verfilzen oder reißen und möglicherweise wasserdicht und schmutzabweisend sein. Beim heutigen Stand der Technik sind diese und viele andere Eigenschaften meist eine Frage der Chemie, also des Einsatzes von Farb- sowie so genannten Hilfs- und Ausrüstungsmitteln in der Herstellung, egal ob das Ausgangsmaterial Natur- oder Kunstfaser ist. Zugleich wünscht der Träger nichts weniger, als über seine Kleidung mit gesundheitsschädlichen Substanzen in Berührung zu kommen.

Auf EU-Ebene wird dies durch REACH, die strikteste Chemikalienverordnung der Welt, gewährleistet, erst im Oktober 2018 wurde das Regelwerk einmal mehr nachgeschärft: Für 33 Chemikalien wurden, sofern sie in Bekleidung, Schuhen und Textilwaren wie Bettzeug oder Windeln vorkommen, neue Grenzwerte festgelegt, die ab Ende 2020 gelten.

High-Tech: Die Ansprüche an Textilien steigen, Chemie macht es möglich – wie bei Modestoffen von Getzner (oben) oder Sportmode von Löffler (unten).
High-Tech: Die Ansprüche an Textilien steigen, Chemie macht es möglich – wie bei Modestoffen von Getzner (oben) oder Sportmode von Löffler (unten).

Darunter sind Schwermetalle wie Cadmium, das in Farbstoffen steckt, Chrom, das auch zum Gerben von Leder verwendet wird, oder Blei, das in Reißverschlüssen vorkommt, dazu Formaldehyd, das Textilien knitterfrei macht, die weichmachenden Phthalate, das Lösungsmittel Dimethylacetamid und bestimmte Färbemittel. Die Substanzen gelten als krebserregend, erbgutverändernd und fortpflanzungsgefährdend und können über Hautkontakt oder Einatmen abgeriebener Partikel in den Körper dringen. In die Kleidung gelangen sie als Verunreinigungen oder durch gezielten Einsatz, um den Erzeugnissen bestimmte Eigenschaften zu verleihen.

Aus Sicht europäischer Verbraucherverbände greift die neue Verordnung jedoch zu kurz, weil die Schwellenwerte teilweise noch zu hoch seien und die Liste deutlich mehr Stoffe reglementieren sollte. Für die europäische Textilindustrie stellt REACH eine Triebfeder dar, wie Roland Comploj, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Getzner Textil AG, erklärt: „Die immer strenger werdenden Richtlinien sowie Änderungen bei der Bewertung von Arbeitsstoffen durch die Europäische Chemikalienagentur sind eine Herausforderung für die Industrie. Zusammen mit Hilfsmittelherstellern arbeiten wir hier stetig an neuen Lösungen.“ Getzner produziert in Bludenz Stoffe für technische Anwendungen, Hemden und Arbeitsbekleidung sowie Damaste für Afrika.

Im grünen Bereich

REACH bringt europäische Hersteller – auch hochwertiger Textilien – nicht leicht in Bedrängnis, da sie sich selbst meist noch strengere Maßstäbe auferlegen. Der verbreitetste Standard für schadstoffgeprüfte Textilien ist dabei der Oeko-Tex Standard 100, der wie Otto Leodolter, Geschäftsführer von Löffler Sportbekleidung in Ried im Innkreis, erklärt, „vielfach deutlich über nationale und international geltende Vorgaben hinausgeht und bedeutet, dass unsere Produkte ausschließlich gesundheitlich einwandfreie Materialien enthalten.“ Eine Herausforderung bleiben laut Leodolter die schwer abbaubaren poly- und perfluorierten Chemikalien (PFC), die Outdoor-Kleidung wasserabweisend machen: „Hier sind wir auf unsere Partner, beispielsweise Gore, angewiesen, möglichst schnell taugliche Alternativen anzubieten.“ Dass Weltmarktführer Gore 2017 ankündigte, umweltfreundlichere Verfahren zu entwickeln und bis 2023 schrittweise auf PFC zu verzichten, wurde von Umweltorganisationen als Erfolg ihrer Bemühungen gefeiert. Löffler ist zudem Oeko-Tex Step-zertifiziert, was dem Unternehmen zusätzlich ein verantwortliches Chemikalien- und Umweltmanagement bescheinigt.

Getzner führt die beiden Oeko-Tex-Labels ebenfalls und vor allem deshalb, wie Vorstand Comploj sagt, „um das eigene Engagement auch bei Kunden und Endkonsumenten sichtbar zu machen“. Darüber hinaus können Modestoffe von Getzner mit dem Oeko-Tex-Label „Made in Green“ ausgezeichnet werden, das es dem Käufer via ID oder QR-Code erlaubt, die gesamte Produktionskette zu überblicken. Comploj lässt seine Produkte „wegen des ganzheitlichen Ansatzes, der gut zur Umweltpolitik des Unternehmens passt“, bereits seit 2005 aber auch von Bluesign zertifizieren, dem Rolls Royce unter den Produktzertifizierungen. Das Bluesign-System gilt als weltweit strengster Textil-Standard. Denn statt nur das Endprodukt zu untersuchen, schreibt Bluesign vor, eingesetzte Komponenten und Verfahren bereits im Vorfeld zu prüfen. Dadurch wird der Einsatz problematischer Stoffe von vornherein ausgeschlossen.

Sattes Orange: Produktkontrolle in einem Zulieferbetrieb von Engelbert Strauss.
Sattes Orange: Produktkontrolle in einem Zulieferbetrieb von Engelbert Strauss.

Von international aufgestellten Systempartnern verlangt Bluesign die Einhaltung seiner Kriterien sowie kontinuierliche Verbesserungen in der Lieferkette. Der Berufskleidungshändler Engelbert Strauss mit Österreich-Sitz in Linz und Europazentrale in Biebergemünd, Deutschland, trat 2013 dem Bluesign-System bei. Das Unternehmen lässt bei Produktionspartnern in mehr als 30 Ländern fertigen, den Großteil in Bangladesch, China, Vietnam und Laos. Mehrere Lieferanten sind ebenfalls bereits Bluesign-Systempartner, andere auf dem Weg dahin. Das Bluesign-Label tragen die Engelbert-Strauss-Erzeugnisse dennoch nicht. Dazu müsste der Anteil der zertifizierten Materialien bei mindestens 90 Prozent liegen, das Unternehmen konzentriert sich auf die Hauptstoffe. Das Engagement des Familienunternehmens gilt dennoch als wegweisend, weil es Hersteller in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern dabei unterstützt, State-of-the-art gemäß – ohne unnötigen Einsatz gefährlicher Stoffe – produzieren zu können.

Weckruf

Sujet aus der Detox-My-Fashion-Kampagne von Greenpeace: Flüsse stellen für Färbereien die Entsorgungsstätte ihrer Abwässer dar
Sujet aus der Detox-My-Fashion-Kampagne von Greenpeace: Flüsse stellen für Färbereien die Entsorgungsstätte ihrer Abwässer dar

Die steigenden Anforderungen von REACH sind in erster Linie eine Erschwernis für jene außereuropäischen Betriebe, die mangels staatlicher Kontrolle und Supply-Chain-Verantwortung der Auftraggeber weiterhin waghalsig mit Chemikalien hantieren. Einmal fertig, werden die Produkte so lange gewaschen, bis sie die Kontrollen der geschützten Märkte passieren, die Chemikalien bleiben zurück in den Abwässern, im Grundwasser und in der Luft. Auf die Missstände und die damit verbundenen Schäden für Umwelt und Arbeitskräfte machte Greenpeace 2011 mit seiner fulminanten Detox-My-Fashion-Kampagne aufmerksam, mit großem Erfolg: 80 Hersteller von Rang und Namen – die laut Greenpeace 15 Prozent des gesamten Bekleidungssektors ausmachen – verpfllichteten sich fürs Erste, die in der Fertigung verwendeten Problemstoffe aufzulisten und ihren Einsatz bis 2020 auf Null zu senken.

Die hohen Anforderungen bewogen sechs große Modelabels noch im Jahr 2011, ZDHC ins Leben zu rufen, eine internationale Plattform, deren Name für Zero Discharge of Hazardous Chemicals – kein Ausstoß von gefährlichen Chemikalien – steht. Die Plattform soll, so die Ambition, eine Wende in der gesamten Textil- und Lederindustrie herbeiführen, in einem der größten Industriesektoren also, der jährlich 1.300 Mrd. US-Dollar umsetzt, mehr als 300 Millionen Menschen beschäftigt und dutzende Millionen Tonnen Chemikalien in Einsatz bringt. Die zentralen Schauplätze sind Asien und Lateinamerika.

Initiative mit System

„Unser Ziel ist“, sagt Frank Michel, CEO von ZDHC, „den chemischen Fußabdruck in der Textil- und Lederindustrie zu reduzieren und durch innovativere, grünere Chemie zu ersetzen.“ ZDHC hat dazu in Kooperation mit seinen Stakeholdern – den Markenartiklern, Händlern und Chemikalienherstellern – ein ausgeklügeltes System entwickelt. Das zentrale Instrument ist eine Liste bei der Herstellung eingeschränkt nutzbarer Substanzen (MRSL), die der einzige Standard für die Textilindustrie werden und das Vielerlei an eigenen Listen nach und nach ersetzen soll. „In dem Maß, wie sich unsere Liste als Referenzliste etabliert, ist ein Wandel möglich“, ist Michel überzeugt.

Daneben hat die Plattform in Kooperation mit Zertifizierungsanbietern weltweit, insbesondere Bluesign, mit dem ZDHC Gateway auch bereits eine positive Liste aufgelegt, die alternative Stoffe in drei Sicherheitsstufen enthält. Die Liste wird als Suchmaschine präsentiert, die für Hersteller bereits mehr als 24.000 bewährte Produkte bereithält und – wiederum in Kooperation mit Chemikalienherstellern – laufend erweitert werden soll. Substanzen, für die aktuell keine sicherere Alternative bekannt ist, gelangen auf eine Forschungsliste, die über Kooperationen mit Forschungsinstituten abgearbeitet werden soll. Daneben hat ZDHC Richtlinien für Herstellungsprozesse bestimmter Produkte und den Umgang mit Abwasser erstellt, eine Guideline für Abluft wird auch noch erscheinen.

Interview mit Frank Michel, Zero Discharged Hazardous Chemical

Frank Michel, ZDHC

Kraft einer einzigen Liste

Frank Michel, Leiter der Zero Discharged Hazardous Chemical ZDHC Initiative, arbeitet daran, die Textil- und Lederindustrie auf einen innovativen und grünen Pfad zu führen.
Meilenstein 2017 eröffnete ZDHC den Implementation Hub in Amsterdam, der das ZDHC System in die Welt hinaus trägt
Meilenstein: 2017 eröffnete ZDHC den Implementation Hub in Amsterdam, der das ZDHC System in die Welt hinaus trägt

Die entscheidende Frage ist aber, wie es Betrieben gelingen kann, ausgehend von der ZDHC-Liste die entsprechenden Managementsysteme für Chemikalien, Ressourcen, Sicherheit und Umwelt zu implementieren. Hier ist Unterstützung nötig, weshalb die Plattform in den Boomzentren der Textilindustrie Beratungszentren eingerichtet hat. Etwa in Mumbai und Shanghai, von wo aus Betriebe in Süd- und Südostasien betreut werden, oder in Portland, Oregon, das Hersteller in den USA berät. Das Büro in Mailand adressiert gezielt die Luxusindustrie und deckt Südeuropa ab. Die Expansion wird vom ZDHC Implementation Hub vorangetrieben, der 2017 in Amsterdam eröffnet wurde. Als nächste Destination steht Südamerika am Programm, wo sich, wie Michel sagt, eine sehr dynamische Mode- und Sportindustrie entwickelt.

Selbstläufer

Insgesamt will ZDHC seine Struktur so einfach und günstig wie möglich halten. Chemikalienhersteller können sich im Chem Check Report als ZDHC-konform listen lassen. Michel: „Unsere Intention ist eigentlich, die Hersteller selbst in die Verantwortung zu nehmen, sodass sie die Programme eigenständig umsetzen und nicht immer von ihren Kunden angestoßen werden müssen.“

Ein zeitliches Ziel gibt es nicht, sagt der ZDHC-Chef, denn sobald die verbreitetsten Chemikalien kontrolliert seien, gehe es im Detail weiter. „Die Modebranche dreht sich sehr schnell und ist immer auf der Suche nach neuen Effekten und Herstellungstechnologien. Da gibt es dann immer die Versuchung, mit Chemikalien zu experimentieren, um vorne mit dabei zu sein. Insofern sehe ich kein Ende.“

Erster Österreicher

Engagement Mit Lenzing trat ein erstes österreichisches Unternehmen der globalen ZDHC-Initiative bei.
Engagement: Mit Lenzing trat ein erstes österreichisches Unternehmen der globalen ZDHC-Initiative bei.

Mit dem Faserhersteller Lenzing hat sich bereits ein erstes österreichisches Unternehmen der globalen Initiative angeschlossen. Lenzings Beitritt zu ZDHC im Jahr 2017 erwuchs aus dem Bestreben, in der eigenen Branche Standards zu schaffen. Der Leiter des Nachhaltigkeitsteams, Peter Bartsch, begründet die Kooperation mit dem Wunsch, „bestehende Probleme auf Branchenebene anzugehen und kontinuierliche Verbesserungen zu erreichen.“ Das Unternehmen, das neben seinem Hauptsitz in Oberösterreich an mehreren Standorten weltweit produziert, gilt als Vorreiter bei der nachhaltigen Textilfaserherstellung aus Cellulosefasern. Für ZDHC-Chef Frank Michel ist Lenzing daher auch ein strategischer Partner, mit dem gemeinsam ein globaler Standard für die Holzfaserindustrie erarbeitet werden soll.

Lenzing ist eines von 77 Industrieunternehmen, die ZDHC mitent-wickeln wollen, zusätzlich haben sich 27 Markenhersteller und 18 Verbände aus der Textil- und Lederindustrie der Plattform angeschlossen. Frank Michel hält die schiere Mitgliederzahl dabei für überschaubar wichtig. Für ihn ist entscheidend, dass die ZDHC-Standards genützt werden.


REACH

REACH (Registrierung, Evaluierung und Authorisierung von Chemikalien) ist die seit 2007 geltende Chemikalienverordnung der EU, die von der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur in Helsinki umgesetzt wird. REACH soll den Einsatz schädlicher Chemikalien beschränken. Produkte, die Grenzwerte überschreiten, dürfen unabhängig vom Ursprung nicht in Verkehr gebracht werden.

ZDHC

Zero Discharge of Hazardous Chemicals wurde 2011 in Amsterdam gegründet und ist heute mit seinem Roadmap to Zero Programme ein globales Kompetenzzentrum zur Eliminierung gefährlicher Substanzen aus der Textil- und Lederherstellung. ZDHC führt eine Art Blacklist (MRSL) sowie eine Greenlist (Gateway) für Herstellersubstanzen und setzt Standards für Abwasser und Abluft.

Bluesign

Bluesign Technologies, 2000 in St. Gallen, Schweiz, gegründet, setzt auf ganzheitlichen Wandel, indem es Unternehmen als System-Partner gewinnt. Bluesign verlangt, dass sämtliche bei der Fertigung eingesetzte Substanzen und Rohwaren strengste Kriterien erfüllen.

Oeko-Tex

Die 1992 in Zürich, Schweiz, gegründete Oeko-Tex führt mehrere Standards. Der Standard 100 garantiert die Unbedenklichkeit eines Produkts, Made in Green seine umweltfreundliche Herstellung, mit SteP und Detox to Zero wird der Hersteller bewertet.

GOTS

Der 2008 von vier Labels gelaunchte Global Organic Textile Standard GOTS garantiert, dass ein Produkt aus mindestens 70 Prozent Naturfasern kontrolliert biologischen Ursprungs besteht und in der Herstellung etwa auf Grenzwerte für Zusatzstoffe und Abwasserklärung geachtet wurde.

Fotos: ZDHC, Marcel Hagen–Studio 22, Löffler Lance Lee_Greenpeace, Engelbert Strauss, Lenzing A