Hardly striking

African companies are hardly known abroad. Jeremy Sampson, Africa head of Brand Finance in Johannesburg, explains why there are so few global brands from Africa.

Jeremy Sampson, Head of Brand Finance Africa
Jeremy Sampson,
Brand Finance Africa
Why are there so few African brands that are perceived outside the continent?

Sampson: The best-known brands are probably Nelson Mandela or the national rugby team Springboks as well as holiday destinations such as Marrakech and Cape Town - so they have little to do with classic branded goods. There are many reasons why few African brands are internationally known. For example, because multinational companies are outbidding or buying up local competition in African markets. Or because some African brands hide their roots. There are no real pan-African brands. And the few African brands that can be found in industrialized countries have professional marketing experts on board who understand these markets.

What African brands could you come across abroad?

Sampson: Especially in South African names. With the brands Savanna and Hunter's, Distell is the world's second largest producer of apple cider and also produces the cream liqueur Amarula, which is in second place globally after Baileys. The fast food chain Nando's is available on every continent. Global players often buy up African brands and introduce them worldwide, just as the brewery group Anheuser-Busch InBev did with South Africa's oldest beer brand Castle Lager or Procter & Gamble with the cosmetic brand Oil of Olaz, also from South Africa.

Brands from Asia, on the other hand, are internationally successful. Do they play a role in Africa and what could African brands learn from them?

Sampson: China is the largest foreign investor in Africa, so the presence of Chinese brands such as telecommunications companies Huawei and Transsion is also growing. Indian and Korean car brands like Tata, Mahindra, Kia and Hyundai and electronics like Samsung and LG are also huge. All of them have top marketers who understand emerging markets and are ready to invest now and for the future. In addition, their products are often geared towards affordability, while being robust and reliable. A lot can be learned here from an African perspective.

Thank you for the interview!

 


Jeremy Sampson is managing director of Brand Finance Africa and has almost 50 years of experience in marketing, advertising and branding.
Photo: provided

To the main story

Afrisocks from Ghana address an international clientele.

African companies: emerging brands

South Africa, 1987: Two friends meet for lunch in a simple pub in the south of Johannesburg. They order chicken. And the taste is completely ...

Kaum markant

Afrikanische Unternehmen sind im Ausland kaum bekannt. Warum es so wenige globale Marken aus Afrika gibt, erklärt Jeremy Sampson, Afrika-Chef von Brand Finance in Johannesburg.

Jeremy Sampson, Chef von Brand Finance Africa
Jeremy Sampson,
Brand Finance Africa
Warum gibt es nur so wenige afrikanische Marken, die außerhalb des Kontinents wahrgenommen werden?

Sampson: Die bekanntesten Marken sind wohl Nelson Mandela oder die Rugby-Nationalmannschaft Springboks sowie Urlaubsziele wie Marrakesch und Kapstadt – haben also wenig mit klassischen Markenartikeln zu tun. Dass wenige afrikanische Marken internationale Bekanntheit erlangen, hat viele Gründe. Etwa, weil multinationale Unternehmen in afrikanischen Märkten die lokale Konkurrenz überbieten oder aufkaufen. Oder, weil manche afrikanische Marken ihre Wurzeln verbergen. Wirklich panafrikanische Marken gibt es nicht. Und die wenigen afrikanischen Brands, die man in Industriestaaten findet, haben professionelle Marketingexperten an Bord, die diese Märkte verstehen.

Auf welche afrikanischen Marken könnte man im Ausland stoßen?

Sampson: Vor allem auf südafrikanische Namen. Distell ist mit den Marken Savanna und Hunter‘s der weltweit zweitgrößte Produzent von Apfelcider und stellt auch den Cremelikör Amarula her, der nach Baileys global an zweiter Stelle steht. Die Fastfoodkette Nando‘s gibt es auf allen Kontinenten. Oft kaufen Global Player afrikanische Marken auf und führen sie weltweit ein, so wie es die Brauereigruppe Anheuser-Busch InBev mit Südafrikas ältester Biermarke Castle Lager gemacht hat oder Procter & Gamble mit der ebenfalls aus Südafrika stammenden Kosmetikbrand Oil of Olaz.

Marken aus Asien hingegen sind international erfolgreich. Spielen diese eine Rolle in Afrika und was könnten afrikanische Marken von ihnen lernen?

Sampson: China ist der größte ausländische Investor in Afrika, daher wächst auch die Präsenz chinesischer Marken wie etwa der Telekommunikationsunternehmen Huawei und Transsion. Auch indische und koreanische Automarken wie Tata, Mahindra, Kia und Hyundai und Elektronik wie Samsung und LG sind riesig. Alle haben Top-Marketingleute, die aufstrebende Märkte verstehen und bereit sind, jetzt und für die Zukunft zu investieren. Außerdem sind ihre Produkte vielfach auf Erschwinglichkeit ausgerichtet, dabei robust und zuverlässig. Hier lässt sich aus afrikanischer Sicht viel abschauen.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch!

 


Jeremy Sampson ist Geschäftsführer von Brand Finance Africa und verfügt über knapp 50 Jahre Erfahrung in den Bereichen Marketing, Werbung und Branding.
Foto: beigestellt

Zur Hauptstory

Afrisocks aus Ghana sprechen eine internationale Kundschaft an.

Afrikanische Unternehmen: Emerging Marken

Südafrika, 1987: Zwei Freunde treffen sich zum Mittagessen in einem einfachen Lokal im Süden von Johannesburg. Sie bestellen Huhn. Und sind vom Geschmack restlos...