Guy Ryder will travel much more often in world history this year than usual. The Briton has been Director-General of the International Labor Organization (ILO) since 2012, a United Nations specialized agency headquartered in Geneva, which celebrates its centenary this year. As part of the numerous anniversary celebrations in all corners of the world, Ryder not only speaks of a milestone, but also an important opportunity to "reflect on the purpose and course of the ILO, which we want to commit together to the future."

At eye level

The purpose of the ILO has always been to improve the working and living conditions of all people. When it was founded, it focused on the situation in post-World War II Europe: the focus was on protecting and strengthening the rights of factory workers. The first principles agreed upon by the 44 founding states appeared to be progressive at the time, but are now taken for granted, at least in our latitudes: these included the eight-hour day, a weekly rest period of at least 24 hours, and the payment of reasonable wages. "An important part of the founding idea of ​​the ILO is that social justice is a prerequisite for lasting peace and thus social and labor law issues have not only a domestic but also an international dimension," says historian Daniel Maul History of the institution has dealt intensively (see Interview).

Since 1919, the ILO has brought together governments, employers 'and workers' representatives from now 187 member states to define globally valid labor standards at the annual International Labor Conference - the highest body of the ILO - and to develop policies and programs that deliver decent work for all should.

Interview with Daniel Maul, University of Oslo

Daniel Maul, University of Oslo

The human being in focus

The historian Daniel Maul continues to see a great role for the International Labor Organization.

The tripartite principle is unique, as it is today, according to which all bodies of the ILO are composed of representatives of states, employers and trade unions. Austria - from 1919 to 1938 and since 1947 a member of the ILO - is represented at the International Labor Conference by representatives of the Social Ministry, the Federation of Austrian Industry and the Austrian Trade Union Confederation ÖGB and the Chamber of Labor. "With governments, unions and employers' organizations negotiating new standards at eye level, there are always conflicting and lengthy disputes that do not always provide the quick answers one desires. But this is the only way to ensure a stable balance of interests between work and capital, "emphasizes Isabelle Ourny, international secretary in the ÖGB.

To date, the International Labor Conference has adopted 190 Conventions and 206 recommendations on a wide range of work-related issues, from employment and pay policies to workplace safety, maternity protection and informal employment. The former are binding, international treaties which are ratified by the Member States and whose implementation is monitored. Recommendations, in turn, are non-binding guiding principles that should guide countries in the implementation of the Conventions.

More than standards

In the past century not only the world of work has changed, but also the role of the ILO. The first major turning point after the end of the Second World War was the successively growing number of member states - above all the US and the Soviet Union, but in the course of decolonization also numerous new states of Asia and Africa. This shifted for the first time the interests within the ILO, which led to the adoption of a number of key conventions such as freedom of association and the right to collective bargaining. On the other hand, the focus was increasingly on an important second cornerstone of the ILO - the support in the implementation of labor and social standards.

Since the 1950 years, the ILO has been advising governments in shaping their labor and social policies through various forms of technical development cooperation. "The ILO took on this task mainly because it was the main interest of the developing countries: international labor standards often did not reflect their situation, but they wanted practical support in building up their industries and training systems," says Maul. The first major ILO technical cooperation program, the Andean program, launched 1952 in Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador. 2018 spent a total of 252,6 million dollars on 866 projects in emerging and developing countries. By comparison, the United Nations UNDP development program put 2018 nearly 4,4 billion dollars into some 4.700 projects.

By contrast, another essential area of ​​ILO work remained largely untouched by the course of world history: research. "Many countries are particularly interested in the comprehensive archive and the ongoing collection of social and labor statistics data from around the world. Nowhere else can you best study social policy best practices in international and historical comparison, "emphasizes Maul.

farm worker
Safety and health in the workplace has been an important area of ​​activity for the ILO since the 1970 years.

Global focus

Starting with 1977, the policy statement on multinational companies and social policy increasingly focused on working conditions in global value chains. To date, the eight most important and best-known ILO labor standards include the eight conventions that 1998 has declared to be the core labor standards, ie fundamental principles and rights at work. These include the prohibition of forced labor and child labor, freedom of association and the right to collective bargaining and the prohibition of discrimination in employment and occupation.

With the 1998 Declaration, the eight core ILO core labor standards have been granted human rights status and therefore universal validity, regardless of whether or not member states have ratified the norms. "The declaration of the core labor standards was a smart move that put the ILO on the offensive and brought out of a steady loss of meaning," emphasizes Maul. A year later, Juan Somavia became ILO Director-General, as his first official act he put the work of the ILO under the concept of decent work - the "Decent Work". The Decent Work Agenda is still of great importance today, as it enabled the ILO to incorporate its ideas and, above all, the core labor standards into other international committees. For example, the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises and the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights refer to the ILO Core Labor Standards. And not only that: "The fact that decent work has become part of the Millennium Development Goals and, last but not least, the Sustainable Development Goals - that is a great success and has enormously expanded the visibility of the ILO," said Maul.

Decent work for all

The ILO today holds the patronage for 14 of the 169 Global Sustainable Development Goal Indicators. However, from their attainment to 2030, we are still a long way away: according to ILO statistics, around 2,8 millions of people are still dying each year as a result of occupational safety and health risks. Even child labor and forced labor is still a reality in many countries: just under 152 million children go to work instead of school, 25 million people have to work against their will. Added to this are completely new working realities in the face of global value creation chains, the digitization of the working world and the increasingly blurred boundary between the entrepreneur and employee concept.

Isabelle Ourny, ÖGB
Isabelle Ourny, ÖGB

Last but not least, to facilitate an exchange on such questions for the future, the ILO has already launched 2013 seven initiatives that will guide their work in the next century. "Issues such as the digitization of the workplace, migration, climate change, income inequality, and bargaining power within global supply chains were listed in the" Future of Work "Centennial Initiative, but unfortunately no solutions were defined. This must be continued, "Ourny criticized by the ÖGB.

Observers from trade unions have always been similarly critical about the fact that the ILO's surveillance system has only a moral finger when Member States do not comply with the requirements of ratified conventions. In the coming years, therefore, it will not only be about the thematic orientation of the ILO - currently, for example, it deals with a just transition to a climate-friendly economy - but also about fundamental structural issues.

In any case, there is no question that the ILO's mandate as an international regulatory body for labor rights will continue to be a very important one in the future. Because if history has shown something, then probably one thing: Politics matter.


Review

100 years ILO

The International Labor Organization looks back on an eventful history marked by the economic and social realities of its time. A few milestones:

1919

founding year
The ILO is founded as part of the Treaty of Versailles as part of the League of Nations.

1944

Declaration of Philadelphia
The ILO renews its commitment to the principles of its constitution.
The premise: "Work is not a commodity."

1946

Worldwide reorganization
The ILO becomes the first special organization of the newly founded United Nations.

1949

technical help
First steps are taken to help Member States implement ILO standards.

1969

Nobel laureate
For the 50 anniversary, the ILO is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for its efforts.

1977

MNU Declaration
Policy Statement on Multinational Enterprises and Social Policy

1984

First World Work Report
The central publication on the worldwide development of labor markets will be published for the first time.

1998

Core labor standards
Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work

1999

Decent Work Agenda
The work of the ILO is put under the umbrella of decent and productive work for all.

2008

Globalisierung
The ILO takes a stand on social and fair globalization.


Photos: ILO / Asrian Mirza, University of Oslo, ILO / Maxime Fossat, ILO Historical Arichve, provided

Guy Ryder ist in diesem Jahr noch einmal deutlich öfter in der Weltgeschichte unterwegs als gewöhnlich. Der Brite ist seit 2012 Generaldirektor der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation ILO, einer Sonderorganisation der Vereinten Nationen mit Hauptsitz in Genf, die heuer ihr hundertjähriges Bestehen feiert. Im Rahmen der zahlreichen Jubiläumsfeiern in allen Ecken der Welt spricht Ryder nicht nur von einem Meilenstein, sondern auch von einer wichtigen Gelegenheit, „um über den Zweck und den Kurs der ILO nachzudenken, den wir gemeinsam für die Zukunft festlegen wollen.“ 

Auf Augenhöhe

Zweck der ILO ist seit jeher die Verbesserung der Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen aller Menschen. Bei der Gründung war sie vor allem auf die Situation im nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg zerrütteten Europa ausgerichtet: Der Fokus lag auf dem Schutz und der Stärkung der Rechte von Fabrikarbeitern. Die ersten Grundsätze, auf die sich die 44 Gründungsstaaten einigten, erschienen damals progressiv, sind aber zumindest in unseren Breitengraden heute selbstverständlich: Darunter fanden sich etwa der Acht-Stunden-Tag, eine wöchentliche Ruhezeit von mindestens 24 Stunden und die Zahlung angemessener Löhne. „Ein wichtiger Teil der Gründungsidee der ILO ist, dass soziale Gerechtigkeit eine Voraussetzung für dauerhaften Frieden ist und somit sozial- und arbeitsrechtliche Fragen nicht nur eine innenpolitische, sondern stets auch eine internationale Dimension haben“, so der Historiker Daniel Maul, der sich mit der Geschichte der Institution intensiv befasst hat (siehe Interview). 

Seit 1919 bringt die ILO Regierungen, Arbeitgeber- und Arbeitnehmervertreter aus nunmehr 187 Mitgliedstaaten zusammen, um bei der einmal jährlich tagenden Internationalen Arbeitskonferenz – dem höchsten Organ der ILO – weltweit gültige Arbeitsnormen zu definieren sowie Strategien und Programme zu entwickeln, die menschenwürdige Arbeit für alle ermöglichen sollen. 

Interview mit Daniel Maul, Universität Oslo

Daniel Maul, Universität Oslo

Der Mensch im Fokus

Anit Mukherjee vom US-Think Tank Center for Global Development baute Aadhaar, die biometrische Datenbank Indiens, mit auf. Im Interview erzählt der Politexperte über Meilensteine, Herausforderungen – und Überraschungen.

Einzigartig dabei ist damals wie heute das dreigliedrige Prinzip, demzufolge sich sämtliche Gremien der ILO aus Vertretern von Staaten, Arbeitgebern und Gewerkschaften zusammensetzen. Österreich – von 1919 bis 1938 und seit 1947 Mitglied der ILO – ist durch Vertreter des Sozialministeriums, der Industriellenvereinigung sowie des Österreichischen Gewerkschaftsbunds ÖGB und der Arbeiterkammer bei der Internationalen Arbeitskonferenz vertreten. „Da hier Regierungen, Gewerkschaften und Verbände der Arbeitgeber auf Augenhöhe neue Standards verhandeln, kommt es immer wieder zu durchwegs konfliktreichen und langwierigen Auseinandersetzungen, die nicht immer jene schnellen Antworten liefern, die man sich wünscht. Aber nur so kann ein stabiler Interessenausgleich zwischen Arbeit und Kapital gewährleistet werden“, betont Isabelle Ourny, internationale Sekretärin im ÖGB.

Bis heute wurden von der Internationalen Arbeitskonferenz 190 Übereinkommen und 206 Empfehlungen zu einer Vielzahl arbeitsrelevanter Aspekte – von Beschäftigungs- und Lohnpolitik bis hin zu Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz, Mutterschutz und informeller Beschäftigung – verabschiedet. Erstere stellen verbindliche, internationale Verträge dar, welche von den Mitgliedstaaten ratifiziert werden und deren Umsetzung überwacht wird. Empfehlungen wiederum sind nicht-bindende Leitprinzipien, die den Ländern bei der Umsetzung der Übereinkommen Orientierung geben sollen.

Mehr als Standards

Im vergangenen Jahrhundert hat sich nicht nur die Arbeitswelt gewandelt, sondern auch die Rolle der ILO. Erster großer Wendepunkt war nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs die sukzessiv wachsende Zahl an Mitgliedstaaten – allen voran die USA und die Sowjetunion, im Zuge der Entkolonialisierung aber auch zahlreiche neue Staaten Asiens und Afrikas. Damit verschoben sich erstmals die Interessen innerhalb der ILO, was zum einen zur Verabschiedung einer Reihe von Schlüsselübereinkommen wie jenen zur Vereinigungsfreiheit und dem Recht auf Kollektivverhandlungen führte. Zum anderen richtete sich der Fokus vermehrt auf einen wichtigen zweiten Grundpfeiler der ILO – die Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung von arbeits- und sozialrechtlichen Standards.

Schon seit den 1950er Jahren berät die ILO verstärkt Regierungen bei der Gestaltung ihrer Arbeits- und Sozialpolitik durch verschiedene Formen der technischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. „Diese Aufgabe hat die ILO vor allem deswegen übernommen, weil darin das Hauptinteresse der Entwicklungsländer lag: Internationale Arbeitsstandards haben deren Situation oftmals nicht widergespiegelt, vielmehr wünschten sich diese Länder vor allem praktische Unterstützung beim Aufbau ihrer Industrien und Ausbildungssysteme“, weiß Maul. Das erste große ILO-Programm für technische Zusammenarbeit, das Andenprogramm, startete 1952 in Peru, Bolivien und Ecuador. 2018 gab die ILO in Summe 252,6 Mio. Dollar für 866 Projekte in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern aus. Zum Vergleich: Das Entwicklungsprogramm der Vereinten Nationen UNDP steckte 2018 knapp 4,4 Mrd. Dollar in rund 4.700 Projekte.

Vom Lauf der Weltgeschichte weitgehend unberührt blieb hingegen ein weiterer essenzieller Arbeitsbereich der ILO: die Forschung. „Gerade am umfassenden Archiv und der laufenden Erhebung von sozial- und arbeitspolitischen statistischen Daten auf der ganzen Welt haben viele Länder ein großes Interesse. Nirgendwo sonst kann man so gut Best Practices der Sozialpolitik im internationalen und historischen Vergleich studieren“, betont Maul.

Farmarbeiterin
Sicherheit und Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz ist seit den 1970er Jahren ein wichtiger Wirkungsbereich der ILO.

Globaler Fokus

Ab 1977 rückten mit der Grundsatzerklärung über multinationale Unternehmen und Sozialpolitik zunehmend die Arbeitsbedingungen in globalen Wertschöpfungsketten in den Fokus der ILO. Zu den wohl wichtigsten und bekanntesten ILO-Arbeitsstandards zählen bis heute jene acht Übereinkommen, die 1998 zu den so genannten Kernarbeitsnormen, also grundlegende Prinzipien und Rechte bei der Arbeit, erklärt wurden. Dazu gehören das Verbot von Zwangsarbeit und Kinderarbeit, die Vereinigungsfreiheit und das Recht auf Kollektivverhandlungen sowie das Verbot der Diskriminierung in Beschäftigung und Beruf.

Mit der Erklärung von 1998 erhielten die acht ILO-Kernarbeitsnormen den Status von Menschenrechten und damit universelle Gültigkeit – unabhängig davon, ob Mitgliedstaaten die Normen ratifiziert haben. „Die Erklärung der Kernarbeitsnormen war ein kluger Schachzug, der die ILO in die Offensive gebracht und aus einem stetigen Bedeutungsverlust herausgeholt hat“, betont Maul. Ein Jahr später wurde Juan Somavia ILO-Generaldirektor, als erste Amtshandlung stellte er die Arbeit der ILO unter den Begriff der menschenwürdigen Arbeit – der „Decent Work“. Die Decent Work Agenda ist bis heute von großer Bedeutung, denn in diesem Rahmen gelang es der ILO, ihre Ideen und vor allem die Kernarbeitsnormen in andere internationale Gremien einfließen zu lassen. So beziehen sich etwa die OECD-Leitsätze für multinationale Unternehmen und die VN-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte auf die ILO-Kernarbeitsnormen. Und nicht nur das: „Dass menschenwürdige Arbeit Teil der Millenniumsentwicklungsziele und zuletzt auch der Sustainable Development Goals geworden ist – das ist ein großer Erfolg und hat die Sichtbarkeit der ILO enorm erweitert“, so Maul.

Menschenwürdige Arbeit für alle

Die ILO hält heute die Schirmherrschaft für 14 der 169 Indikatoren der globalen Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung inne. Von deren Erreichung bis 2030 sind wir allerdings noch weit entfernt: Nach wie vor sterben laut Statistiken der ILO jedes Jahr rund 2,8 Millionen Menschen an den Folgen von Sicherheits- und Gesundheitsrisiken am Arbeitsplatz. Auch Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit ist in vielen Ländern immer noch Realität: Knapp 152 Millionen Kinder gehen statt zur Schule einer Arbeit nach, 25 Millionen Menschen müssen gegen ihren Willen arbeiten. Hinzu kommen ganz neue Arbeitsrealitäten angesichts globaler Wertschöpfungsketten, der Digitalisierung der Arbeitswelt und der zunehmend verschwimmenden Grenze zwischen dem Unternehmer- und Arbeitnehmerbegriff.

Isabelle Ourny, ÖGB
Isabelle Ourny, ÖGB

Nicht zuletzt um einen Austausch zu solchen Zukunftsfragen zu ermöglichen, rief die ILO bereits 2013 sieben Initiativen ins Leben, welche ihre Arbeit im kommenden Jahrhundert anleiten sollen. „Themen wie die Digitalisierung der Arbeitswelt, Migration, Klimawandel, Einkommensungleichheit, und Verhandlungsmacht innerhalb globaler Lieferketten wurden in der Jahrhundertinitiative „Zukunft der Arbeit“ aufgelistet, es wurden aber leider keine Lösungsvorschläge definiert. Daran muss weitergearbeitet werden“, kritisiert Ourny vom ÖGB.

Ähnlich kritisch sehen insbesondere Beobachter aus den Gewerkschaften seit jeher die Tatsache, dass die ILO mit ihrem Überwachungssystem lediglich über einen moralischen Zeigefinger verfügt, wenn Mitgliedstaaten die Vorgaben ratifizierter Übereinkommen nicht einhalten. In den kommenden Jahren wird es also nicht nur um die thematische Ausrichtung der ILO gehen – aktuell befasst sie sich etwa insbesondere mit einem gerechten Übergang zu einer klimafreundlichen Wirtschaft – sondern auch um grundlegende strukturelle Fragen.

Dass das Mandat der ILO als internationale Regelungsinstanz zu Arbeitsrechten auch in Zukunft ein sehr wichtiges sein wird, steht jedenfalls außer Frage. Denn wenn die Geschichte etwas gezeigt hat, dann wohl eines: Politics matter.


Rückblick

100 Jahre ILO

Die Internationale Arbeitsorganisation blickt auf eine bewegte Geschichte zurück, die von den wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Realitäten ihrer Zeit geprägt war. Eine paar Meilensteine:

1919

Gründungsjahr
Die ILO wird im Rahmen des Friedensvertrags von Versailles als Teilorganisation des Völkerbundes gegründet.

1944

Erklärung von Philadelphia
Die ILO erneuert das Bekenntnis zu den Prinzipien ihrer Verfassung.
Die Prämisse: „Arbeit ist keine Ware.“

1946

Weltweite Neuordnung
Die ILO wird zur ersten Sonderorganisation der neu gegründeten Vereinten Nationen.

1949

Technische Hilfe
Erste Schritte werden gesetzt, um Mitgliedstaaten bei der Umsetzung von ILO-Normen zu unterstützen.

1969

Nobelpreisträger
Zum 50-jährigen Bestehen wird der ILO für ihre Bemühungen der Friedensnobelpreis verliehen.

1977

MNU-Erklärung
Grundsatzerklärung über multinationale Unternehmen und Sozialpolitik

1984

Erster Weltarbeitsbericht
Die zentrale Publikation zur weltweiten Entwicklung der Arbeitsmärkte wird erstmals veröffentlicht.

1998

Kernarbeitsnormen
Erklärung über die fundamentalen Prinzipien und Rechte bei der Arbeit

1999

Decent Work Agenda
Die Arbeit der ILO wird unter den Schirm von menschenwürdiger und produktiver Arbeit für alle gestellt.

2008

Globalisierung
Die ILO bezieht Stellung zu einer sozialen und fairen Globalisierung.


 
Fotos: ILO/Asrian Mirza, Universität Oslo, ILO/Maxime Fossat, ILO Historical Arichve, beigestellt