At the end of August, Japan, together with the United Nations, the World Bank and the African Union, is inviting Japanese and African leaders and development experts to a major meeting, this time to Yokohama, to discuss prospects for development cooperation and economic cooperation. The first so-called Tokyo International Conference on Development in Africa TICAD took place at 1993 and was the starting signal for intensified cooperation with the continent. The cooperation is primarily in the form of technology transfer and training, the improvement of the infrastructure, health and agriculture sector in sub-Saharan Africa has been in the foreground so far. With 1,5 billion dollars 2016 flowed about twelve per cent of the Japanese development budget into this region.

Asian giver

With a volume of 16,8 billion dollars, Japan is the world's fourth largest donor. Almost half of the funds will be lent. Top recipients are Vietnam, India, Iraq, Burma and Bangladesh.
With a volume of 16,8 billion dollars, Japan is the world's fourth largest donor. Almost half of the funds will be lent. Top recipients are Vietnam, India, Iraq, Burma and Bangladesh.

Japan has been providing development aid since the 1950 years - not a given in the light of the devastation caused by the Second World War. Today, the island state with a volume of 16,8 billion dollars is the fourth largest donor after the USA, Germany and the United Kingdom. However, based on its gross national income, its development performance, with a share of 0,20 percent, lies only with 20. Location. 

Japan has always considered development aid to be an important tool for foreign policy - today, above all, to maintain peace, stability and prosperity - and from the outset was interested in working together with the industrialized countries. 1960 already joined the newly established DAC Development Assistance Committee of the Organization for Co-operation and Development (OECD), whose core concern is the definition of common standards for development cooperation. Japan often causes unrest here. "Japan has certainly always been a special donor: for a long time the only one and today one of the few non-Western members of the DAC," says Stephan Klingebiel of the German Development Institute, describing Japan's special role (see interview).

Interview with Stephan Klingebiel, German Development Institute

Stephan Klingebiel, German Development Institute

Japan: An idiosyncratic player

Japan has always gone its own way with its development policy, as Stephan Klingebiel of the German Development Institute declares.

Japan remained loyal to its own "Asian" principles. And among these, the basic law is cooperation on equal terms and the avoidance of donor-recipient relationships. Japan's understanding of assistance as a means of self-help has found its way into the DAC and is still less appreciated for its views on mutual economic benefit and pronounced preference for donations to donations, along with its insistence on aid and on demand Non-interference - all features that characterize South-South cooperations. The primary focus on the neighbors, and not on the poorest among them, is another facet of this logic.

Instruments

The settlement of the bilateral public aid is transferred to the Japanese Agency for International Cooperation JICA. It manages two-thirds of the state development aid budget. With more than a hundred offices worldwide and 15 in Japan, JICA is one of the largest development agencies. She employs 2.000 employees. Since 2008, it unites the technical and financial bilateral cooperation under one roof and is organized as a one-stop-shop. This will enable them to combine technical cooperation - consulting services provided by Japanese experts and Japanese equipment - and grants in the form of grants, budget support and scholarships on a demand-driven and efficient basis with loans. In addition there are development projects of Japanese NGOs, universities or authorities.

Infrastructure with loans from the JICA: transfer in Tanzania

With so-called development loans - loans with low interest rates and long maturities - the JICA governments, for example, enable the construction of roads, water supply or sewerage as well as the financing of engineering services. According to international criticism, which ultimately affected the majority of DAC members, Japan recently came out in favor of relieving at least the poorest developing countries of the obligation to buy equipment from Japan in return for financing. This widespread practice severely restricts recipient countries' room for maneuver and, in reality, means that products and services need to be bought at up to 30 per cent more expensive than equivalent alternatives. This is called bundled financing, as it also offers Austria in the form of soft loans.

Japan was once a pioneer of unbounded aid, but revised its policy with the onset of the national economic crisis 1990. Today, Japan advocates a "more positive view of committed aid" - with the by no means merely superficial argument that "committed aid is more readily understood in donor countries and thus more public money can be made available for it than for unbound".

balancing act

Japan has a strong counterpart in China, which has supported it vigorously for more than 25 years, today as a competitor in its own primary target region. Japan has also found a way here and made a virtue out of necessity. In order to set itself apart from China, it offers what was always a characteristic of Japanese development cooperation in terms of its own development, namely the promotion of economic infrastructure such as ports, airports, roads, railways and power plants, today under the title "Quality Infrastructure". on. The point is that the construction is not only based on proven top technology from Japan, but also with explicit respect of environmental, labor and safety standards. In addition, unlike China, Japanese companies rely heavily on local staff to implement such projects - creating jobs in partner countries.

With the construction of the good 500 kilometers high-speed line between the Indian metropolises Mumbai and Ahmedabad the advantages of the cooperation with Japan are to be preexercised. With initial costs of more than 15 billion dollars, this biggest development project in Japan to be completed with 2023 is a nod to China, which Japan snatched up a similar project shortly before in Indonesia due to more favorable financing conditions. At the same time, the railway is intended to be an advertising medium for Japan's new geopolitical strategy for a free and open Indo-Pacific region, an alternative program to China's new Silk Road.

Cooperation with the economy

Project initiation: Presentation of a special economic zone in front of JICA experts in Vietnam
Project initiation: Presentation of a special economic zone in front of JICA experts in Vietnam

A central task sees the JICA in the promotion of the expansion of the Japanese private sector in developing countries. Support measures include infrastructure investment, training, feasibility study funding, product promotion support, and loans and equity. In a condensed form, such measures have enabled the construction of the Thilawa Special Economic Zone, which 2015 has established as a joint venture of Japanese trading companies and banks, the local government and companies within four years in Myanmar. JICA invested in the Special Economic Zone, awarded loans for the extension of the access road and the port, and provided technical assistance in the form of capacity development for the staff of the central service center. In general, Japanese private companies are invited to submit to various program lines such as the dissemination of Japanese technology, the Global Sustainable Development Goals (SME) or SMEs for financing by the JICA for the move to developing countries.

forerunner

The Japanese development cooperation is accompanied and encouraged by the JICA Research Center, which is considered one of the best think tanks on development issues. Among the new concepts introduced by Japan, which were also imitated, are so-called triangular cooperations in which one donor supports cooperation between developing countries. However, Japan was also at the forefront of the concept of quantitative goals, contributing to the formulation and, most recently, to the multitude of global UN Sustainable Development Goals. Japan shows leadership on environmental issues and wants to start a debate on new financing mechanisms next. Shortage of funds is forcing it, as Japan's foreign minister said earlier this year. A reduction of Japan's bilateral aid is not to be feared according to experts. This is too much coupled with the economy.

Photos: AKIO IIZUKA / JICA, KITOMARI, ARCHIV, Phu My 3.de

Ende August lädt Japan gemeinsam mit den Vereinten Nationen, Weltbank und der Afrikanischen Union zum siebenten Mal japanische und afrikanische Spitzenpolitiker sowie Entwicklungsexperten zu einem großen Treffen ein, diesmal nach Yokohama, um über Perspektiven von Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und Wirtschaftskooperationen zu diskutieren. Die erste so genannte Tokioter Internationale Konferenz zu Entwicklung in Afrika TICAD fand 1993 statt und war der Startschuss für eine intensivierte Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kontinent. Die Kooperation erfolgt dabei primär in Form von Technologietransfer und Schulungen, die Verbesserung des Infrastruktur-, Gesundheits- und Landwirtschaftssektors in Subsahara-Afrika standen bisher im Vordergrund. Mit 1,5 Mrd. Dollar flossen 2016 rund zwölf Prozent des japanischen Entwicklungsetats in diese Region.

Asiatischer Geber

Mit einem Volumen von 16,8 Mrd. Dollar ist Japan der weltweit viertgrößte Geber. Knapp die Hälfte der Mittel werden als Darlehen vergeben. Top- Empfänger sind Vietnam, Indien, Irak, Burma und Bangladesch.
Mit einem Volumen von 16,8 Mrd. Dollar ist Japan der weltweit viertgrößte Geber. Knapp die Hälfte der Mittel werden als Darlehen vergeben. Top-Empfänger sind Vietnam, Indien, Irak, Burma und Bangladesch.

Japan leistet seit den 1950er Jahren Entwicklungshilfe – keine Selbstverständlichkeit angesichts der Zerstörungen im eigenen Land durch den Zweiten Weltkrieg. Heute ist der Inselstaat mit einem Volumen von 16,8 Mrd. Dollar nach den USA, Deutschland und Großbritannien viertgrößter Geber, gemessen am Bruttonationaleinkommen liegt seine Entwicklungsleistung mit einem Anteil von 0,20 Prozent jedoch nur an 20. Stelle. 

Japan sah in Entwicklungshilfe stets ein wichtiges außenpolitisches Tool – heute vor allem zum Erhalt von Frieden, Stabilität und Wohlstand – und war von Anfang an interessiert, sich im Verbund mit den Industriestaaten zu engagieren. Bereits 1960 trat es daher dem neu gegründeten Entwicklungshilfeausschuss DAC der Organisation für Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung OECD bei, dessen Kernanliegen die Festlegung gemeinsamer Standards für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit ist. Japan sorgt hier häufig für Unruhe. „Japan ist sicherlich immer ein besonderer Geber gewesen: lange der einzige und heute noch einer der wenigen nicht-westlichen Mitglieder des DAC“, beschreibt Stephan Klingebiel vom Deutschen Institut für Entwicklungspolitik Japans Sonderrolle (siehe Interview).

Interview mit Stephan Klingebiel, Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik

Stephan Klingebiel, Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik

Ein eigenwilliger Player

Japan ist mit seiner Entwicklungspolitik immer eigene Wege gegangen, wie Stephan Klingebiel vom Deutschen Institut für Entwicklungspolitik erklärt.

Japan blieb nämlich seinen eigenen, „asiatischen“ Prinzipien treu. Und zu diesen zählt als Grundgesetz die Kooperation auf Augenhöhe und die Vermeidung von Geber-Empfänger-Beziehungen. Japans Verständnis von Hilfe als Unterstützung zur Selbsthilfe fand dabei Eingang in den DAC, weniger Anklang finden bis heute seine Auffassung von Hilfe als beiderseitig vorteilhafte wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und seine ausgeprägte Präferenz für Darlehen gegenüber Schenkungen, dazu sein Beharren auf dem Prinzip der Hilfe auf Nachfrage und der Nichteinmischung – alles Züge, die Süd-Südkooperationen auszeichnen. Der primäre Fokus auf die Nachbarn und unter diesen nicht auf die ärmsten ist eine weitere Facette dieser Logik.

Instrumente

Die Abwicklung der bilateralen öffentlichen Hilfe ist der Japanischen Agentur für internationale Zusammenarbeit JICA übertragen. Sie verwaltet zwei Drittel des staatlichen Entwicklungshilfebudgets. Mit mehr als hundert Niederlassungen weltweit und 15 in Japan zählt die JICA zu den größten Entwicklungsagenturen. Sie beschäftigt 2.000 Mitarbeiter. Seit 2008 vereint sie die technische und finanzielle bilaterale Zusammenarbeit unter einem Dach und ist als One-Stop-Shop organisiert. Damit hat sie die Möglichkeit, technische Zusammenarbeit – Beratungsleistungen durch japanische Experten und japanisches Equipment – und Zuschüsse in Form von Förderungen, Budgethilfe und Stipendien bedarfsorientiert und effizient mit Darlehen zu kombinieren. Dazu kommen Entwicklungsprojekte japanischer NGO, Universitäten oder Behörden.

Infrastruktur mit Krediten der JICA: Überführung in Tansania

Mit so genannten Entwicklungskrediten – Darlehen mit niedrigen Zinsen und langen Laufzeiten – ermöglicht die JICA Regierungen beispielsweise den Bau von Straßen, Wasserversorgung oder Kanalisation sowie die Finanzierung von Ingenieursleistungen. Nach internationaler Kritik, die letztlich den Großteil der DAC-Mitglieder betraf, rang sich Japan erst vor kurzem dazu durch, zumindest die ärmsten Entwicklungsländer von der Verpflichtung zu befreien, im Gegenzug für Finanzierungen Ausrüstung aus Japan zu kaufen. Diese weit verbreitete Praxis schränkt den Handlungsspielraum der Empfängerländer erheblich ein und bedeutet in der Realität, dass die entsprechenden Produkte und Dienstleistungen um bis zu 30 Prozent teurer gekauft werden müssen als gleichwertige Alternativen. Man spricht hier von gebundenden Finanzierungen, wie sie auch Österreich in Form von Soft Loans anbietet.

Dabei war Japan einst ein Vorreiter ungebundener Hilfe gewesen, revidierte seine Politik aber mit Beginn der nationalen Wirtschaftskrise 1990. Heute plädiert Japan für eine „positivere Sicht auf gebundene Hilfe“ – mit dem keineswegs bloß vordergründigen Argument, dass „gebundene Hilfe in den Geberländern eher Verständnis findet und somit mehr öffentliche Gelder dafür bereit gestellt werden können als für ungebundene“.

Spagat

Japan hat in China, das es selbst mehr als 25 Jahre lang kräftig unterstützte, heute noch ein bedeutendes Gegenüber, nämlich einen Konkurrenten in der eigenen primären Zielregion. Japan hat auch hier einen Weg gefunden und aus der Not eine Tugend gemacht. Um sich von China abzusetzen, bietet es das, was mit Berufung auf die eigene Entwicklung immer ein Charakteristikum der japanischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit war, nämlich die schwerpunktmäßige Förderung von wirtschaftlicher Infrastruktur wie Häfen, Flughäfen, Straßen, Bahnen und Kraftwerken, heute unter dem Titel „Qualitätsinfrastruktur“ an. Der springende Punkt: Der Bau erfolgt nicht nur auf Basis erprobter Spitzentechnologie aus Japan, sondern auch unter ausdrücklicher Wahrung von Umwelt-, Arbeits- und Sicherheitsstandards. Hinzu kommt: Im Unterschied zu China setzen japanische Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung solcher Projekte stark auf lokales Personal – und schaffen damit Arbeitsplätze in den Partnerländern.

Bei der Errichtung der gut 500 Kilometer langen Hochgeschwindigkeitsstrecke zwischen den indischen Metropolen Mumbai und Ahmedabad sollen die Vorzüge der Zusammenarbeit mit Japan vorexerziert werden. Mit Anfangskosten von mehr als 15 Mrd. Dollar ist dieses größte Entwicklungsprojekt Japans, das 2023 fertiggestellt sein soll, ein Wink an China, das Japan ein ähnliches Projekt kurz davor in Indonesien aufgrund günstigerer Finanzierungskonditionen wegschnappte. Zugleich soll die Bahn ein Werbeträger für Japans neue geopolitische Strategie für eine freie und offene indopazifische Region werden, ein Alternativprogramm zu Chinas neuer Seidenstraße.

Kooperation mit der Wirtschaft

Projektanbahnung: Präsentation einer Sonderwirtschaftszone vor JICA-Experten in Vietnam
Projektanbahnung: Präsentation einer Sonderwirtschaftszone vor JICA-Experten in Vietnam

Eine zentrale Aufgabe sieht die JICA in der Förderung der Expansion des japanischen Privatsektors in Entwicklungsländer. Zu den Fördermaßnahmen zählen Investitionen in Infrastruktur, Ausbildung, Finanzierung von Machbarkeitsstudien, Unterstützung bei der Produktwerbung sowie Darlehen und Equity. In gebündelter Form ermög- lichten solche Maßnahmen etwa die Errichtung der Thilawa Sonderwirtschaftszone, die 2015 als Joint Venture japanischer Handelsunternehmen und Banken, der lokalen Regierung und Unternehmen binnen vier Jahren in Myanmar errichtet wurde. Die JICA investierte in die Sonderwirtschaftszone, vergab Darlehen für den Ausbau der Zufahrtsstraße und des Hafens und leistete technische Hilfe in Form von Kapazitätenentwicklung für das Personal des zentralen Servicecenters. Generell sind japanische Privatunternehmen eingeladen, zu verschiedenen Programmlinien wie die Verbreitung japanischer Technologie, die globalen Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung oder KMU um Finanzierungen durch die JICA für den Schritt in Entwicklungsländer einzureichen.

Wegbereiter

Analytisch begleitet und angespornt wird die japaniche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit durch das JICA Research Center, das als einer der besten Think Tanks zu Entwicklungsthemen gilt. Zu den von Japan eingeführten neuen Konzepten, die dann auch Nachahmung fanden, gehören sogenannte Dreieckskooperationen, bei denen ein Geber die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Entwicklungsländern unterstützt. Japan war aber auch Vorreiter des Konzepts quantitativer Ziele und trug damit zur Formulierung und zuletzt auch zur Vielzahl der globalen Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen bei. Japan zeigt Leadership bei Umweltthemen und will als nächstes eine Debatte über neue Finanzierungsmechanismen führen. Dazu zwingen knappe Mittel, wie Japans Außenminister Anfang des Jahres sagte. Eine Kürzung von Japans bilateraler Hilfe ist laut Experten dabei nicht zu befürchten. Dazu ist diese zu sehr mit der Wirtschaft gekoppelt.

Fotos: AKIO IIZUKA/JICA, KITOMARI, ARCHIV, Phu My 3.de