Interview

Old narratives

Issue 94 - spring 2022

According to the Africanist Martin Sturmer, stereotypical images of Africa are based on specific crises.

Martin Sturmer, afrika.info
Martin Sturmer, afrika.info
How would you summarize the prevailing image of Africa in this country?

Sturmer: Thomas Seifert from the Wiener Zeitung once said an interesting sentence: “In media theater everyone gets a role. Africa's role is that of the tragic figure who must die in the end.” Africa is the continent that is least trusted. And there is a whole melange of negative images, which can be easily understood using the cover of Time Magazine, for example. Among other things, how Africa was presented as a continent of diseases, keywords AIDS and Ebola. This is the breeding ground on which the Corona reporting then hit. Media around the world have assumed that Africa will be hit by the world's largest Covid catastrophe, with tens of millions dead. These are the expectations that arise from learned stereotypes.

"We know all about how Africans die and we know nothing about how they live," writer Henning Mankell once said. Where does this crisis focus come from?

Sturmer: The reporting pattern of the tragic figure has been ingrained since the end of the colonial era. The tentative optimism that followed the independence of many countries quickly turned into the opposite. The starting point for the negative slope was the Congo crisis from 1960 and the murder of Patrice Lumumba. This then continued through the hunger crisis in Biafra, the reigns of terror of dictators such as Bokassa and Idi Amin, through to the civil wars in Liberia and Sierra Leone. Narratives about the continent of hunger, despots and brutality are still based on these occasions. At the same time, there is this glorified image of untouched Africa: Some of us don't like to hear that the African Development Bank is propagating the industrialization of the continent. Many would prefer Africa to remain original.

What are the implications of such images in terms of economic relations?

Sturmer: On the one hand, the images increase exporters' and investors' fears of non-payment. On the other hand, Africa is still considered a playground for adventurers. A company asked me if I could accompany an employee who was going to Africa for the first time and was supposed to set up a market there for 26 countries. Without any experience...

Photo: Striker

To the main story

Reframing Africa: Too much black and white

Crises, catastrophes, diseases: Despite all the progress made in recent decades, the prevailing image of Africa in this country still has negative connotations - and does not do justice to the diversity of the continent. Why is that - and what can be done about it?

Interview

Alte Narrative

Ausgabe 94 – Frühjahr 2022

Laut dem Afrikanisten Martin Sturmer gründen stereotype Afrikabilder auf spezifischen Krisen.

Martin Sturmer, afrika.info
Martin Sturmer, afrika.info
Wie würden Sie das hierzulande vorherrschende Afrikabild zusammenfassen?

Sturmer: Thomas Seifert von der Wiener Zeitung hat einmal einen interessanten Satz gesagt: „Im medialen Theater bekommt jeder eine Rolle. Die Rolle Afrikas ist die der tragischen Figur, die am Ende sterben muss.“ Afrika ist der Kontinent, dem man am wenigsten zutraut. Und es gibt eine ganze Melange an Negativbildern, die sich etwa anhand der Cover des Time Magazine gut nachvollziehen lassen. Unter anderem wie Afrika als Kontinent der Krankheiten präsentiert wurde, Stichworte Aids und Ebola. Das ist der Nährboden, auf den dann die Corona-Berichterstattung traf. Weltweit sind Medien davon ausgegangen, dass über Afrika die weltweit größte Covid-Katastrophe hereinbrechen wird, mit zig Millionen Toten. Das sind die Erwartungshaltungen, die aus eingelernten Stereotypen entstehen.

„Wir wissen alles darüber, wie Afrikaner sterben, und wir wissen nichts darüber, wie sie leben“, hat der Schriftsteller Henning Mankell einmal gesagt. Woher rührt dieser Krisenfokus?

Sturmer: Das Berichterstattungsmuster der tragischen Figur hat sich seit dem Ende der Kolonialzeit eingeprägt. Der zaghafte Optimismus nach der Unabhängigkeit vieler Länder kehrte sich schnell ins Gegenteil um. Ausgangspunkt für den Negativhang war die Kongo-Krise ab 1960 und die Ermordung von Patrice Lumumba. Das hat sich dann fortgesetzt über die Hungerkrise in Biafra, die Schreckensherrschaften von Diktatoren wie Bokassa oder Idi Amin bis hin zu den Bürgerkriegen in Liberia oder Sierra Leone. Auf diesen Anlassfällen gründen heute noch die Narrative über den Kontinent des Hungers, der Despoten und der Brutalität. Zeitgleich gibt es dieses verklärte Bild des unberührten Afrikas: Dass die Afrikanische Entwicklungsbank die Industrialisierung des Kontinents propagiert, hören manche bei uns gar nicht gerne. Vielen wäre es lieber, Afrika bliebe ursprünglich.

Welche Auswirkungen haben derlei Bilder hinsichtlich der Wirtschaftsbeziehungen?

Sturmer: Einerseits verstärken die Bilder die Angst der Exporteure und Investoren vor Zahlungsausfall. Andererseits gilt Afrika immer noch als ein Spielplatz für Abenteurer. Mich hat ein Betrieb gefragt, ob ich einen Mitarbeiter begleiten kann, der das erste Mal nach Afrika fährt und dort einen Markt für 26 Länder aufbauen soll. Ganz ohne Erfahrung …

Foto: Sturmer

Zur Hauptstory

Reframing Africa: Zu viel schwarz-weiß

Krisen, Katastrophen, Krankheiten: Trotz aller Fortschritte der vergangenen Jahrzehnte ist das hierzulande vorherrschende Afrikabild nach wie vor negativ konnotiert – und wird der Vielseitigkeit des Kontinents nicht gerecht. Woran liegt das – und was lässt sich dagegen tun?