With the Oesterreichische Kontrollbank in the health sector of Asia

LAOS Supported by a soft loan from the Oesterreichische Kontrollbank, the Laotian Ministry of Health transferred the SFC environmental technology the task of improving the water supply and sanitation of the Mittaphab hospital in the capital Vientiane. At the core, Salzburg planned and constructed a turnkey drinking water treatment plant with two new deep wells and an 150 m storage tank as well as a wastewater treatment plant based on the ultrafiltration process developed by them. In the meantime, enough drinking water is available in the hospital and the risk of epidemics has been reduced. It has been extended to 500 beds.

SRI LANKA The Sri Lankan government has gradually improved the country's emergency infrastructure with foreign aid since the 2004 tsunami. The desire to build a modern emergency doctor and ambulance system led to a large order from the special vehicle manufacturer in 2018 Dlouhy in Tulln based on an Austrian soft loan. Dlouhy delivered a total of 100 ambulance vehicles with extensive medical equipment. In the summer of 2019, the last cars were handed over to a hospital in Colombo in the presence of the Minister of Health during a ceremony (see picture below).

corporAID magazine December / January 2019

Water projects of the German KfW Development Bank in the Balkans

Northern Macedonia The southern Vardar valley is well suited for high-yield agriculture, provided that water resources are used efficiently. KfW Development Bank contributed EUR 15 million to corresponding measures totaling EUR 24 million. The focus is on the rehabilitation and expansion of the irrigation infrastructure with a main line, distribution network and pumping station in front of the small town of Valandovo. A construction contract worth 14,6 million euros was awarded to the Strabag forgive. This wants to complete her part in the middle of 2021. User communities as well as an operating and maintenance concept already exist. 

SERBIA In Subotica, just before the border with Hungary, the interconnected Palic and Ludas Lakes could provide a high quality recreational area. However, the quality of the water is still reduced due to wastewater discharges. With a KfW grant of 6,5 million euros, a biodiversity and lake conservation project was launched Posch and partner as an implementation consultant. Investments are made in sewage treatment plant and sewage system, a green belt is built around the lakes and the fish stock is regulated. The city and its municipal companies receive advice on water conservation, sustainable financing and public relations. 

corporaid magazine September / October 2019

Key players in upgrading neighboring countries with EBRD funds

Northern Macedonia The Balkan country is integrated into the pan-European transport network, but has hardly made any profit from it so far. This should change with an electronic toll system that the EBRD is financing with 32 million euros. The toll stations on north-south corridor X should go online by 2020, while tenders for east-west corridor VIII are currently in progress. The advisors of iC consultants from Vienna support the state's road construction company in preparing the tender documents, monitoring the construction work and advising them on technical and legal issues up to commissioning. 

UKRAINE Ukraine implemented a new building code in 2016 in accordance with the EU building directive. To support the changeover, the e7 Energy Market Analysis GmBH in Vienna on behalf of the EBRD developed a web-based software for the calculation of the total energy efficiency of buildings with consortium partners. The software, which will be freely accessible to all market players - designers, architects, energy auditors - enables the creation of easily verifiable energy certificates in accordance with the new standards. The project has already led to follow-up orders from Eastern Europe. 

corporAID magazine July / August 2019

Involved in EU neighborhood aid

BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA The Balkan country has been participating in the stabilization and association process since 2005, which is expected to be the end of EU accession. This includes, among other things, the introduction of a computerized customs system, which enables the rapid, paper-free handling of the transit procedure in the EU. The people of Vienna; the Vienna Sausages wedoIT-solutions GMBH, Specialist in the development of IT systems for tax authorities, recently implemented a fully integrated electronic tax system called CATS in the country. This will now be followed by equipping customs by 2020. The EUR 1,7 million project is financed by Europaid.

ALGERIA In view of the increasing energy demand, the Algerian government decided in 2013 to launch an ambitious program to expand renewable energies and increase energy efficiency. The installed capacity of renewables is to increase to 2030 MW by 22.000. The EU is funding these efforts with a nearly three-year 8,2 million euro program implemented by an international consortium to which the Allplan GmbH listened from Vienna. Tasks include the development of technical and management capacities, institutional, political and regulatory mechanisms and the involvement of investors. 

corporAID magazine May / June 2019

Engineering contracts from the Asian Development Bank

GEORGIA With the help of the Asian Development Bank, Georgia is improving water and wastewater literacy in the country. The water and sanitation experts at the Technical University in Tbilisi are also being trained. Setec engineering from Klagenfurt takes on this task with the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences in Vienna. The latter conducts laboratory training on water quality analysis and assurance, Setec offers practical training on hydraulic solutions and leak detection methods so that water losses can be reduced and the water supply can be optimized. The one-year order is estimated at 450.000 euros. 

MONGOLIA The Asian Development Bank supports Mongolia's efforts to improve governance and management in public hospitals. It is currently funding the construction of a model hospital in the capital Ulan Bator. The Austrian Vamed engineering won the contract to plan and build the Songinokhairkhan Hospital with eight departments and 200 beds as a general contractor and to equip it with medical technology. It is the fourth order from Mongolia for Vamed. The project is estimated at $ 25 million. The hospital is scheduled to start operating at the end of 2019. 

© corporAID magazine March / April 2019

With soft loans from the Austrian Control Bank to Asia and Africa 

LAOS The Graz e-education specialist bit media e-solutions completed its first major order in Laos at the end of 2018, which was financed by a EUR 3 million soft loan. The client was the Laotian Ministry of Education, which wanted to lay the foundation for a better educational offer, especially in remote regions, with modern IT infrastructure and localized software for learning management, school administration and content development. Among other things, several servers were installed in the ministry and 500 officials were trained, fifteen of them in Graz. Almost 30 elementary and vocational schools are already integrated into the system. 

EGYPT The technology group received a soft loan of around EUR 10 million Frequentis In 2009, the Egyptian Inland Navigation Authority awarded the contract to set up a modern information system to regulate the transport volume on the Nile. Political changes brought delays. With the recent acceptance at the company's headquarters in Vienna by a high-ranking delegation from Egypt, a decisive step forward has now been made. The communications center in Cairo is scheduled to start operating at the end of 2019 and will monitor the 20-kilometer section of the river to Aswan with 960 base stations. 

© corporAID magazine January / February 2019

Consulting

Österreichisches Know-how im Entwicklungsbusiness 2019

In Kooperation mit internationalen Entwicklungsfinanzierern werden österreichische Unternehmen weltweit tätig. Hier ein Rückblick auf einige erfolgreiche Kooperationen mit Weltbank und Co im Jahr 2019.

Mit der Oesterreichischen Kontrollbank im Gesundheitssektor Asiens

LAOS Unterstützt durch einen Soft Loan der Oesterreichischen Kontrollbank übertrug das laotische Gesundheitsministerium der SFC Umwelttechnik die Aufgabe, die Wasserver- und -entsorgung des Mittaphab Spitals in der Hauptstadt Vientiane zu verbessern. Im Kern planten und errichteten die Salzburger eine schlüsselfertige Trinkwasseraufbereitungsanlage mit zwei neuen Tiefbrunnen und einem 150 m-Speicher sowie eine Abwasseraufbereitungsanlage auf Basis des von ihnen entwickelten Ultrafiltrationsverfahrens. Mittlerweile ist im Spital ausreichend Trinkwasser verfügbar und die Seuchengefahr gemindert. Es wurde auf 500 Betten erweitert.

SRI LANKA Die Regierung Sri Lankas hat die Notfallinfrastruktur des Landes seit dem Tsunami im Jahr 2004 mit ausländischer Hilfe nach und nach verbessert. Der Wunsch, ein modernes Notarzt- und Ambulanzwesen aufzubauen, führte 2018 zu einer Großbestellung beim Spezialfahrzeughersteller Dlouhy in Tulln auf Basis eines österreichischen Soft Loans. Dlouhy lieferte insgesamt 100 Ambulanzfahrzeuge mit umfassender medizinischer Ausstattung. Im Sommer 2019 erfolgte die Übergabe der letzten Wagen im Beisein des Gesundheitsministers an ein Krankenhaus in Colombo im Rahmen einer feierlichen Zeremonie (siehe Bild unten).

corporAID Magazin Dezember/Jänner 2019

Wasserprojekte der deutschen KfW Entwicklungsbank am Balkan

NORDMAZEDONIEN Das südliche Vardartal eignet sich gut für eine ertragreiche Landwirtschaft, sofern die Wasserressourcen effizient genutzt werden. Die KfW Entwicklungsbank hat sich mit 15 Mio. Euro an entsprechenden Maßnahmen im Gesamtumfang von 24 Mio. Euro beteiligt. Im Zentrum stehen die Rehabilitierung und Erweiterung von Bewässerungsinfrastruktur mit Hauptleitung, Verteilernetz und Pumpstation vor der Kleinstadt Valandovo. Ein Bauauftrag über 14,6 Mio. Euro wurde Anfang 2019 an die Strabag vergeben. Diese will ihren Part Mitte 2021 abschließen. Nutzergemeinschaften sowie ein Betriebs- und Wartungskonzept bestehen bereits. 

SERBIEN In Subotica, knapp vor der Grenze zu Ungarn, könnten die miteinander verbundenen Palic- und Ludas-Seen ein hochwertiges Erholungsgebiet abgeben. Doch noch ist die Wasserqualität vor allem durch Abwassereinleitungen gemindert. Mit einem KfW-Zuschuss von 6,5 Mio. Euro wurde nun ein Biodiversitäts- und Seenreinhaltungsprojekt gestartet, das Posch und Partner als Implementierungsberater umsetzt. Investiert wird in Kläranlage und Kanalisation, dazu wird ein Grüngürtel um die Seen errichtet und der Fischbestand reguliert. Die Stadt und ihre städtischen Betriebe erhalten Beratung zu Wasserschutz, nachhaltiger Finanzierung und PR. 

corporaid Magazin September/Oktober 2019

Schlüsselakteure beim Upgraden von Nachbarländern mit EBRD-Geldern

NORDMAZEDONIEN Das Balkanland ist in das paneuropäische Verkehrsnetz integriert, zog bisher aber kaum Profit daraus. Dies soll sich mit einem elektronischen Mautsystem, das die EBRD mit 32 Mio. Euro finanziert, ändern. Dabei sollen die Mautstationen am Nord-Süd-Korridor X bereits bis 2020 online gehen, für den Ost-West-Korridor VIII laufen gerade die Ausschreibungen. Die Berater von iC Consulenten aus Wien unterstützen die Straßenbaugesellschaft des Landes bei der Erstellung der Ausschreibungsunterlagen, der Überwachung der Bauarbeiten und beraten sie in technischen und juristischen Fragen bis zur Inbetriebnahme. 

UKRAINE Die Ukraine hat 2016 eine neue Bauordnung entsprechend der EU-Gebäuderichtlinie in Kraft gesetzt. Um die Umstellung zu unterstützen, hat die e7 Energie Markt Analyse GmBH in Wien im Auftrag der EBRD mit Konsortialpartnern eine webbasierte Software zur Berechnung der Gesamtenergieeffizienz von Gebäuden entwickelt. Die Software, die für alle Marktakteure – Designer, Architekten, Energieauditoren – frei zugänglich sein wird, ermöglicht die Erstellung von einfach überprüfbaren Energieausweisen entsprechend den neuen Normen. Das Projekt hat bereits zu Folgeaufträgen aus Osteuropa geführt. 

corporAID Magazin Juli/August 2019

Eingebunden in die Nachbarschaftshilfe der EU

BOSNIEN UND HERZEGOWINA Seit 2005 nimmt das Balkanland am Stabilisierungs- und Assoziierungsprozess teil, an dessen Ende der EU-Beitritt stehen soll. Dazu gehört unter anderem die Einführung eines computergestützten Zollsystems, welches die rasche, papierfreie Abwicklung des Versandverfahrens in der EU ermöglicht. Die Wiener wedoIT-solutions GMBH, Spezialist für die Entwicklung von IT-Systemen für Finanzbehörden, hat im Land erst kürzlich ein vollintegriertes elektronisches Steuersystem namens CATS implementiert. Daran schließt nun bis 2020 die Ausstattung des Zolls an. Das 1,7 Mio. Euro-Projekt wird von Europaid finanziert.

ALGERIEN Angesichts des steigenden Energiebedarfs beschloss die algerische Regierung 2013 ein ambitioniertes Programm zum Ausbau von Erneuerbarer Energie und zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz. Die installierte Leistung von Erneuerbaren soll bis 2030 auf 22.000 MW steigen. Die EU fördert die Bemühungen mit einem knapp dreijährigen 8,2 Mio. Euro-Programm, das ein internationales Konsortium umsetzt, dem die Allplan GmbH aus Wien zugehört. Aufgaben sind die Entwicklung von technischen und Managementkapazitäten, institutionellen, politischen und ordnungspolitischen Mechanismen und die Einbindung von Investoren. 

corporAID Magazin Mai/Juni 2019

Engineering-Aufträge der Asiatischen Entwicklungsbank

GEORGIEN Mit Hilfe der Asiatischen Entwicklungsbank verbessert Georgien die Wasser- und Abwasserkompetenz im Land. Dazu werden auch die Wasser- und Sanitärexperten der Technischen Universität in Tiflis weitergebildet. Setec Engineering aus Klagenfurt übernimmt mit der Universität für Bodenkultur in Wien diese Aufgabe. Letztere führt Laborschulungen zu Wasserqualitätsanalysen und -sicherung durch, Setec bietet praktische Trainings zu Hydrauliklösungen und Leckortungsmethoden, damit Wasserverluste reduziert und die Wasserversorgung optimiert werden kann. Der einjährige Auftrag ist mit 450.000 Euro veranschlagt. 

MONGOLEI Die Asiatische Entwicklungsbank unterstützt das Bestreben der Mongolei, Governance und Management in öffentlichen Spitälern zu verbessern. Aktuell finanziert sie die Errichtung eines Modellkrankenhauses in der Hauptstadt Ulan Bator. Die österreichische Vamed Engineering gewann den Auftrag, das Songinokhairkhan Spital mit acht Abteilungen und 200 Betten als Generalunternehmer zu planen, zu errichten sowie mit Medizintechnik auszurüsten. Es ist für die Vamed bereits der vierte Auftrag aus der Mongolei. Das Projekt ist mit 25 Mio. USD veranschlagt. Das Spital soll Ende 2019 seinen Betrieb aufnehmen. 

© corporAID Magazin März/April 2019

Mit Soft Loans der Oesterreichischen Kontrollbank nach Asien und Afrika 

LAOS Der Grazer e-Education-Spezialist bit media e-solutions hat Ende 2018 einen ersten Großauftrag in Laos abgeschlossen, der durch einen 3 Mio. Euro Soft Loan finanziert wurde. Auftraggeber war das laotische Bildungsministerium, das mit moderner IT-Infrastruktur sowie lokalisierter Software für Lernmanagement, Schulverwaltung und Content-Entwicklung die Basis für ein besseres Bildungsangebot vor allem in abgeschiedenen Regionen legen wollte. Unter anderem wurden mehrere Server im Ministerium installiert und 500 Beamte geschult, fünfzehn davon in Graz. Knapp 30 Grund- und Berufsschulen sind bereits in das System integriert. 

ÄGYPTEN Auf Basis eines rund 10 Mio. Euro Soft Loans erhielt der Technologiekonzern Frequentis 2009 den Zuschlag der ägyptischen Binnenschifffahrtsbehörde zur Errichtung eines modernen Informationssystems, um das Transportaufkommen auf dem Nil zu regeln. Politische Wechsel brachten Verzögerungen. Mit der kürzlich in der Firmenzentrale in Wien erfolgten Abnahme durch eine hochrangige Delegation aus Ägypten fand nun aber ein entscheidender Schritt nach vorne statt. Ende 2019 soll die Kommunikationszentrale in Kairo ihren Betrieb aufnehmen und mit 20 Basisstationen den 960 Kilometer langen Flussabschnitt bis Assuan überwachen. 

© corporAID Magazin Jänner/Februar 2019