Belarus secures its roads, Liberia its forest

With expertise from Austria, Belarusian roads are adapted to international safety standards ...

Belarus Not least because of a high accident rate, the Belarusian government would like to improve road safety in accordance with international standards. Supported on behalf of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development MC Mobility Consultants with NAST Consulting (both from Vienna) and Civitta Belarus the traffic authority in the improvement of the road construction standards, the establishment of reports on traffic accidents, the certification of auditors as well as the creation of a strategy and a manual on road safety.

and Liberia's forests verifiable ...

Liberia The government of the densely wooded country is striving to use the REDD + climate mechanism and, through forest protection and promotion measures, CO2-Selling emission rights. Created for it Geoville from Innsbruck and their Swedish partner Metria a national forest inventory as early as 2015. In a further step, the consortium set up a satellite-supported forest and land cover map with funds from the Forest Carbon Partnership Facility. It provides the authority with high-quality spatial and statistical data for the continuous monitoring and evaluation of national forest resources.

... and thus made usable in terms of air conditioning.
© corporAID magazine autumn 2021

Better drinking water supplies in Malawi and Albania

asdf
With Austrian engineering offices, the drinking water supply in two cities of Malawi ...

Malawi The drinking water supply in the cities of Mzuzu and Ekwendi is reaching its limits. A EUR 20,5 million loan from the European Investment Bank (EIB) allows the responsible Northern Region Area Water Board to take some quick action. The sustainable use of funds has been guaranteed since 2017 Posch and Partner Consulting Engineers on behalf of the EIB. The Innsbruckers supported the water supplier with the planning of weir systems, a water treatment plant, the elevation of the Lunyangwa Dam and the planning and implementation of a groundwater drilling program.

... and three cities in Albania expanded.

Albania Thanks to donor funds coordinated by KfW, Albania has had a nationwide master plan for the water sector that is unique in the region since 2013. For the municipal infrastructure, this provides for investments of 5 billion euros by 2040. Supported on behalf of KfW Setec engineering the General Directorate for Water and Wastewater in Tirana is currently already in its 5th installment. For investments amounting to 40 million euros in the coastal cities of Vlora and Saranda as well as in Fier, the Klagenfurt-based company draws up plans, helps with tenders and supervises construction work until acceptance. 

© corporAID magazine summer 2021

Participation in energy expansion in Uzbekistan and Nigeria

Strengthening the gas sector in Uzbekistan ...

Uzbekistan Uzbekistan has large reserves of natural gas, on which energy generation is based. Several development banks now want to support the government in developing the gas sector. The aim is better supply and higher added value in the country. Placed on behalf of the Asian Development Bank ILF Consulting Engineers in cooperation with Roland Berger for this purpose, after one year of work, recently presented an extensive gas master plan, which shows several scenarios for investment requirements in the gas infrastructure (extraction, transport) including effects on operators and the climate. 

... and expansion of hydropower with expertise from Austria.

Nigeria As part of its “New Deal on Energy for Africa” strategy, the African Development Bank has provided financing of 100 million dollars for the rehabilitation of the two privately owned hydropower plants Kainji and Jebba in Nigeria. With 1,3 gigawatts, they represent the most powerful power plant complex in the country Andritz Hydro the contract to modernize the Jebba machine set that has been out of service for years as a result of a major fire. The order, worth more than 30 million euros, is expected to be completed in two years.

© corporAID magazine spring 2021
Photos: Uzbekneftegaz, Mainstream Energy Solutions Limited, Posch and Partner Consulting Engineers, Setec Engineering

Here you can find reports about international consulting projects in developing countries 2020, 2019

Weißrussland sichert seine Straßen, Liberia seinen Wald

Mit Expertise aus Österreich werden Weißrusslands Straßen an internationale Sicherheitsstandards angepasst …

Weißrussland Nicht zuletzt aufgrund einer hohen Unfallrate möchte die weißrussische Regierung die Straßenverkehrssicherheit entsprechend internationalen Standards verbessern. Im Auftrag der Europäischen Bank für Wiederaufbau und Entwicklung unterstützt MC Mobility Consultants mit NAST Consulting (beide aus Wien) und Civitta Belarus die Verkehrsbehörde bei der Verbesserung der Straßenbaunormen, der Etablierung von Berichten zu Verkehrsunfällen, der Zertifizierung von Auditoren sowie der Erstellung einer Strategie und eines Handbuchs zu Straßenverkehrssicherheit.

und Liberias Wälder überprüfbar …

Liberia Die Regierung des waldreichen Landes strebt danach, den Klimamechanismus REDD+ zu nutzen und über Waldschutz- und Fördermaßnahmen CO2-Emissionsrechte zu verkaufen. Dafür erstellten Geoville aus Innsbruck und ihr schwedischer Partner Metria bereits 2015 ein nationales Waldinventar. In einem weiteren Schritt richtete das Konsortium mit Mitteln der Forest Carbon Partnership Facility eine satellitengestützte Wald- und Landbedeckungskarte ein. Sie liefert der Behörde hochwertige räumliche und statistische Daten zur kontinuierlichen Überwachung und Bewertung der nationalen Waldressourcen.

… und damit klimatechnisch verwertbar gemacht.
© corporAID Magazin Herbst 2021

Bessere Trinkwasserversorgung in Malawi und Albanien

asdf
Mit österreichischen Ingenieursbüros wird die Trinkwasserversorgung in zwei Städten Malawis …

Malawi Die Trinkwasserversorgung in den Städten Mzuzu und Ekwendeni gerät an ihre Grenzen. Ein 20,5 Mio. Euro-Kredit der Europäischen Investitionsbank EIB erlaubt es dem zuständigen Northern Region Area Water Board, einige schnell wirksame Maßnahmen zu setzen. Den nachhaltigen Mitteleinsatz garantiert seit 2017 Posch und Partner Consulting Engineers im Auftrag der EIB. Die Innsbrucker unterstützten den Wasserversorger durch die Planung von Wehranlagen, einer Wasseraufbereitungsanlage, die Erhöhung des Lunyangwa Damms und die Planung und Durchführung eines Grundwasserbohrprogramms.

… und drei Städten Albaniens ausgebaut.

Albanien Dank Gebergeldern unter Koordination der KfW verfügt Albanien seit 2013 über einen in der Region einzigartigen landesweiten Masterplan für den Wassersektor. Für die kommunale Infrastruktur sieht dieser Investitionen in Höhe von 5 Mrd. Euro bis 2040 vor. Im Auftrag der KfW unterstützt Setec Engineering das Generaldirektorat für Wasser- und Abwasser in Tirana aktuell bereits in der 5. Tranche. Für Investitionen in Höhe von 40 Mio. Euro in den Küstenstädten Vlora und Saranda sowie in Fier erstellen die Klagenfurter Pläne, helfen bei Ausschreibungen und überwachen Baumaßnahmen bis zur Abnahme. 

© corporAID Magazin Sommer 2021

Mitwirkung am Energieausbau in Usbekistan und Nigeria

Stärkung des Gassektors in Usbekistan …

Usbekistan Usbekistan verfügt über große Reserven an Erdgas, auf dem auch die Energieerzeugung basiert. Mehrere Entwicklungsbanken möchten nun die Regierung bei der Entwicklung des Gassektors unterstützen. Ziel ist eine bessere Versorgung und höhere Wertschöpfung im Land. Im Auftrag der Asiatischen Entwicklungsbank legte ILF Consulting Engineers in Kooperation mit Roland Berger dafür kürzlich nach einjähriger Arbeit einen umfangreichen Gas Master Plan vor, der mehrere Szenarien zum Investitionsbedarf in die Gasinfrastruktur (Förderung, Transport) inklusive Auswirkungen auf Betreiber und Klima aufzeigt. 

… und Ausbau der Wasserkraft mit Expertise aus Österreich.

Nigeria Die Afrikanische Entwicklungsbank hat im Rahmen ihrer Strategie „New Deal on Energy for Africa“ eine Finanzierung von 100 Mio. Dollar für die Rehabilitierung der beiden privat geführten Wasserkraftwerke Kainji und Jebba in Nigeria bereitgestellt. Mit 1,3 Gigawatt stellen sie den leistungsstärksten Kraftwerkskomplex des Landes dar. Ende 2020 erhielt Andritz Hydro den Zuschlag zur Modernisierung jenes Maschinensatzes von Jebba, der in Folge eines Großbrands seit Jahren außer Betrieb ist. Der Auftrag im Wert von mehr als 30 Mio. Euro soll in zwei Jahren abgeschlossen sein.

© corporAID Magazin Frühjahr 2021
Fotos: Uzbekneftegaz, Mainstream Energy Solutions Limited, Posch und Partner Consulting Engineers, Setec Engineering

Finden Sie hier Meldungen über internationale Consulting Projekte in Entwicklungsländern aus 2020, 2019