Interview

Closing the gap

Issue 82 - July | August 2019

OeEB CEO Michael Wancata is already looking forward to the first interest of Austrian companies in the new financing instrument.

Michael Wancata, Board Member OeEB
Michael Wancata, Board Member OeEB
Who should be specifically addressed with the African-Austrian SME Investment Facility?

Wancata: In principle, the facility is open to all companies from Austria or the European Union, and numerous companies have already submitted inquiries to us. It is becoming apparent that, on the one hand, there is a need in the area of ​​project development and, on the other hand, in the construction of production sites, which we can cover with this instrument. We are pleased that the interest in Africa on the part of the Austrian SMEs is definitely given, and we have already received some praise from some companies. We see great potential especially for companies with know-how in environmental technology, waste management and renewable energy.

How will the facility be linked to other OeEB offerings? 

Wancata: Of course, our business advisory services, which support the introduction of environmental and social standards, can of course be used if needed. This facility does not differ from other OeEB projects. There are also synergies with the economic partnerships of ADA, since projects can be structured in advance in this context. This reduces the transaction costs. 

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch!
Photo: OeEB

To the main story

African-Austrian SME Investment

Off to Africa!

At the end of 2018, a new financing instrument for investments in Africa was announced, and now the starting signal has been given: companies can now submit their project proposals for the African-Austrian SME Investment Facility.

Interview

Lückenschluss

Ausgabe 82 – Juli | August 2019

OeEB-Vorstand Michael Wancata freut sich bereits über erstes Interesse heimischer Unternehmen am neuen Finanzierungsinstrument.

Michael Wancata, Vorstandsmitglied OeEB
Michael Wancata, Vorstandsmitglied OeEB
Wer soll mit der African-Austrian SME Investment Facility konkret angesprochen werden?

Wancata: Grundsätzlich steht die Fazilität allen Unternehmen aus Österreich oder der Europäischen Union offen, es haben auch schon zahlreiche Firmen Anfragen an uns gestellt. Es zeichnet sich ab, dass einerseits im Bereich Projektentwicklung und andererseits im Aufbau von Produktionsstandorten ein Bedarf gegeben ist, den wir mit diesem Instrument abdecken können. Es freut uns, dass das Interesse an Afrika vonseiten der österreichischen Mittelständler also definitiv gegeben ist, und wir haben auch schon Lob dafür von einigen Unternehmen geerntet. Insbesondere für Unternehmen mit Know-how in Umwelttechnik, Abfallwirtschaft und Erneuerbare Energie sehen wir großes Potenzial.

Wie wird die Fazilität mit weiteren Angeboten der OeEB verschränkt? 

Wancata: Unsere Business Advisory Services, die etwa die Einführung von Umwelt- und Sozialstandards unterstützen, können bei Bedarf natürlich herangezogen werden. Darin unterscheidet sich diese Fazilität nicht von anderen OeEB-Projekten. Es ergeben sich außerdem Synergien mit den Wirtschaftspartnerschaften der ADA, da Projekte in diesem Rahmen im Vorfeld strukturiert werden können. Damit verringern sich die Transaktionskosten. 

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch!
Foto: OeEB

Zur Hauptstory

Auf nach Afrika!

Ende 2018 wurde ein neues Finanzierungsinstrument für Investitionen in Afrika angekündigt, nun ist der Startschuss gefallen: Unternehmen können ab sofort ihre Projektvorschläge für die African-Austrian SME Investment Facility einreichen.