The current number

Dangerous shortage

The care key for medical professionals varies widely across the world. In Asia and Africa in particular, there is often a shortage of nurses and midwives.

Nurses and midwives are deployed on a global average per 100.000 inhabitants.

29.03.2020 The fight against the COVID-19 pandemic shows how important it is to have enough medical personnel available. Not only doctors, but also nurses are urgently needed at the forefront. But even before the current crisis, health workers were scarce in many places. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), the world needs around nine million additional nurses and midwives to achieve the goal of universal health care by 2030.

Nurses and midwives per 100.000 inhabitants

Southeast Asia and Africa in particular are struggling with the dangerous shortage. Richer countries, on the other hand, have been recruiting medical personnel from all over the world for decades, but especially from the Philippines. Not without side effects: Few health care systems have as few nurses as that of the Southeast Asian island state.

By the way, one of the most famous nurses, Florence Nightingale, was born 200 years ago. WHO therefore declared 2020 the “International Year of Nurses and Midwives” to put the spotlight on the importance of these professions. Because of the corona pandemic, at least this goal has been achieved.

Die aktuelle Zahl

Gefährlicher Mangel

Der Betreuungsschlüssel bei medizinischen Fachkräften variiert weltweit stark. Insbesondere in Asien und Afrika mangelt es oft an Pflegekräften und Hebammen.

Krankenpfleger und Hebammen sind im globalen Schnitt pro 100.000 Einwohner im Einsatz.

Der Kampf gegen die COVID-19-Pandemie zeigt, wie wichtig die Verfügbarkeit von ausreichend medizinischem Personal ist. Nicht nur Ärzte, sondern auch Krankenpfleger werden an vorderster Front dringend gebraucht. Doch schon vor der aktuellen Krise war Gesundheitspersonal vielerorts knapp. Laut Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO benötigt die Welt an die neun Millionen zusätzliche Krankenpfleger und Hebammen, um das Ziel einer universellen Gesundheitsversorgung bis 2030 erreichen zu können.

Krankenpfleger und Hebammen je 100.000 Einwohner

Vor allem Südostasien und Afrika kämpfen mit dem gefährlichen Mangel. Reichere Länder rekrutieren hingegen schon seit Jahrzehnten medizinisches Personal aus aller Welt, besonders gerne aber aus den Philippinen. Nicht ohne Nebenwirkungen: Nur wenige Gesundheitssysteme verfügen über so wenige Krankenpflegekräfte wie jenes des südostasiatischen Inselstaats.

Eine der berühmtesten Krankenschwestern, Florence Nightingale, wurde übrigens vor 200 Jahren geboren. Die WHO hat 2020 daher zum „Internationalen Jahr der Pflegekräfte und Hebammen“ erklärt, um die Bedeutung dieser Berufe ins Rampenlicht zu rücken. Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie ist zumindest dieses Ziel wohl erreicht.