guest commentary

Opportunities for a sustainable economic transformation

Andrea Sihn-Weber, Raiffeisen Bank International

Issue 87 - summer 2020

Andrea Sihn-Weber, Raiffeisen Bank International

Despite the current pandemic, our future is linked to the climate crisis, which, like Covid-19, particularly affects people in poverty. Energy consumption is central in the industrialized countries - we currently use 80 percent fossil energy, and by 2050 this value should be zero. At the same time, around 1,2 billion people now live without electricity.

The big challenge will be to overcome global poverty together with the climate crisis. As the financial sector plays a key role in addressing these challenges, the European Commission presented the action plan to finance sustainable growth in 2018. Added to this was the European Green Deal in 2019 as a new EU growth strategy and at the same time an integral contribution to the 2030 Agenda. For this purpose, around 2030 billion euros in additional investments are to be made annually by 260, 25 percent of which should contribute to achieving the climate targets.

It is therefore of strategic relevance for companies not only to deal with sustainability and climate risks, but also to explore which new technologies, products and business areas can arise from a sustainable and climate-friendly economic transformation.


Andrea Sihn-Weber heads Group Sustainability Management at Raiffeisen Bank International.

Photo: Sara Tomic 

 

[You can find more guest comments here!]

Gastkommentar

Chancen einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaftstransformation

Andrea Sihn-Weber, Raiffeisen Bank International

Ausgabe 87 – Sommer 2020

Andrea Sihn-Weber, Raiffeisen Bank International

Trotz der derzeitigen Pandemie ist unsere Zukunft mit der Klimakrise verbunden, die ebenso wie Covid-19 Menschen in Armut besonders betrifft. In den Industriestaaten ist dabei der Energiekonsum zentral – aktuell nutzen wir zu 80 Prozent fossile Energie, 2050 soll dieser Wert bei null liegen. Gleichzeitig leben heute rund 1,2 Milliarden Menschen ohne Strom.

Die große Herausforderung wird es sein, die globale Armut gemeinsam mit der Klimakrise zu bewältigen. Da der Finanzsektor bei der Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen eine Schlüsselrolle spielt, wurde 2018 von der Europäischen Kommission der Aktionsplan zur Finanzierung nachhaltigen Wachstums vorgestellt. Dazu kam 2019 der europäische Grüne Deal als neue EU-Wachstumsstrategie und gleichzeitig integraler Beitrag zur Agenda 2030. Dafür sollen bis 2030 jährlich rund 260 Mrd. Euro zusätzliche Investitionen getätigt werden, wobei 25 Prozent zur Erreichung der Klimaziele beitragen sollen.

Für Unternehmen ist es daher von strategischer Relevanz, sich nicht nur mit Nachhaltigkeits- und Klimarisiken auseinanderzusetzen, sondern auch auszuloten, welche neuen Technologien, Produkte und Geschäftsfelder durch eine nachhaltige und klimaschonende Wirtschaftstransformation entstehen können.


Andrea Sihn-Weber leitet in der Raiffeisen Bank International das Group Sustainability Management.

Foto: Sara Tomic